Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-16-2013, 04:06 PM   #1
Stephenm0ynihan

Am I a poor guitarist?

Hey. Don't worry, I'm not whining, I'm fairly content with how much I've progressed guitar-wise, but I'm just curious...

Whenever I'm looking at forums about 'the hardest solo you know' and stuff, I always see people saying they've learned Jimi Hendrix songs after like 6-8 months... I've been playing seriously for say, 2 years, and I still have difficulty learning some apparently easy stuff.. for example, I tried learning the Fade to Black intro earlier, I spent a good 2 hours at it and still am only at about 80% of Metallica's speed. Am I just expecting to learn things too quickly or am I really that behind you other guitarists? Also, I'm quite a perfectionist, I won't claim I know something until I have 100% right and am comfortable playing it, could that be another reason why I feel like I'm not as good as other players?

Please, don't tell me I shouldn't compare myself to others, I know this may be true, but that doesn't really answer my question..

Cheers.
Stephenm0ynihan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 04:15 PM   #2
steven seagull
not really a seagull

Don't compare yourself to others, it's pointless.

What other people can or can't do has absolutely no bearing on what you yourself can or can't do...different people learn different things in different ways at different speeds, and also have different criteria as to what constitutes "being able to do something" - so worrying about how you compare to others is a meaningless exercise that also isn't going help you improve in any way.

All that matters is that you are able to identify your own flaws and gaps in your playing and are willing to put in the work to rectify those problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote: