Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-21-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
Gillthenasty

JCM 800 hum?

Hi!

I'm playing a p90 guitar through a JCM 800, and I get a hum from the amp.
Is this normal? I'm kind of new to tube amps, so I can't tell from own experience.
(From what I can remember, I only get the hum on high sensitivity.. Well I barley play low sensitivity )

Thanks
Gillthenasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 04:06 PM   #2
Robbgnarly

Is the amp used?
are the tubes new?
how loud and how close are you to it?
Does the sound stop if you mute the strings?
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 04:12 PM   #3
MaggaraMarine
Slapping the bass.

Do you have another guitar (with humbuckers)? P90s are single coils so you get more hum with them than with humbuckers.

Gear:

Charvel So Cal (MIJ)
Digitech RP355
MXR Micro Chorus
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Hartke HyDrive 210c
MaggaraMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2013, 04:22 PM   #4
Gillthenasty

The tubes were said to be from 2010 or so, but used a very few times. (The amp is used but I bought it just a few months ago)
I'm basically as low as you can go on the JCM 800.
I do not think the sound stops if I'd mute the strings, but I'm not sure. I'll try the next time I'll play it.

I do not have any other guitar with humbuckers at the place where the amp is, but I have a stratocaster from 74 with very low distortion in its single coil pickup. I can try with that one.

I might just bring it in for a quality check, since I don't know what else could be worn out or such.
What do you say?
Old 04-21-2013, 04:29 PM   #5
MaggaraMarine
Slapping the bass.