Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 04-26-2013, 02:11 PM   #21
drocorth
Registered User
 
drocorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4D
ok line6 studio ux2 does give you Pod farm 2 OK, cool idea & logical,. BUT..

there are better options... IMO

from my little opinion, Amplitude OR free plugins are better for tone and testing

( Negative to Line 6 is CRASHING I get alot of crashing in protools 10 from Amp farm And Amplitude has a wider sonic range in amps sounds then Amp Farm )

Sound wise to test a demo amp in Amplitude with each amp sim for 48 hours is very cool idea, find what works for the project .



Now.. a different issues comes into mind ,... when it comes to video I think that is a different subject and project. guessing you have (????) mins ( PER Timing/Feeling/Style Etc ) you can only match to video if you do at VERY focus TIMING pass First

Can you do that in your current DAW ?...
I ask because have no idea what your using ?? and I do ask because I have done this many times in the last 10 years you need timing and measurement tools to plan it out well.

it's a steep learning curve so take it slow and be prepared to learn,.. John Williams of the world are well educated in it,...you have to be prepared to climb those stairs.


The most I can give you is advice to help is Break your video into parts and measure the timing to match. if all is he same emotion and feel,...your on a winner..


Good luck.


cant we do recording the sound and video at the same time? or i take a video while im playing and recording, after that i will put the sound on the video and thats all?
drocorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 02:16 PM   #22
Bigbazz
Registered User
 
Bigbazz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Nothing wrong with the UX2, I borrowed and used one in a pinch when my sound card short circuited and caught on fire. Preamps sounded decent (not too noisy) and live monitoring was doable without latency.

From what I gather they are pretty cheap and come with a lot of sounds with the software, Not saying it's the best option out there but I don't buy into the idea that there is anything wrong with it, it will do what you want and will give you quality recordings.

I recorded this https://soundcloud.com/bluelightrid...-ride-this-wont with a UX2, before I bought a Presonus Firestudio and handed the UX2 back to its owner.
__________________
Cornford Hellcat
Peavey 5150
Marshall 1960A
1994 Ibanez Jem 7V
Fender Stratocaster x3 (2 of them built from bits and pieces!)
Bigbazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 02:23 PM   #23
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by drocorth
cant we do recording the sound and video at the same time? or i take a video while im playing and recording, after that i will put the sound on the video and thats all?



it would be advisable ( only in my knowledge ) to "measure" the timing BEFORE, so you write music to the Video. ( afew beats off,.. does distory a scene if you do it wrong )

IF you want to do it Freestyle COOL (Go for it !! improvisational is a good thing if you have the time to try all the options. I LOVE it when i have the time )

But you can waste abit of time with that approach. IMO it's best to Spending the time ( & get all nerdy and measure everything out first with a click track ) it will help you in the end. to get everything in perfectly place. to then improvise/Jam/write whatever and create a cool price of music to match the video perfectly.


But I'm sure others here have done this work before, so check there opinions.
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 04:48 PM   #24
reincarnator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
For video recording, I usually record video and audio at the same time. I usually record from my phone or tablet, and then sync it up later with the audio on PC. Make sure to have a cue of some sort or it becomes a nightmare to sync stuff up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neopowell the PUSO
Girls, stuck for a present? Get your man a remote control helicopter. Guys fucking love remote control helicopters.

Mah gear

Ibanez RG350mdx w/ SD TB-6
Ibanez RG7321 <3
Vyper 15
Ashdown EB 12-180 EVO II Combo

7>6!
reincarnator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:17 PM   #25
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbazz
Nothing wrong with the UX2, I borrowed and used one in a pinch when my sound card short circuited and caught on fire. Preamps sounded decent (not too noisy) and live monitoring was doable without latency.

From what I gather they are pretty cheap and come with a lot of sounds with the software, Not saying it's the best option out there but I don't buy into the idea that there is anything wrong with it, it will do what you want and will give you quality recordings.

I recorded this https://soundcloud.com/bluelightrid...-ride-this-wont with a UX2, before I bought a Presonus Firestudio and handed the UX2 back to its owner.


It's not TOO bad no.

But if you're paying for it it's a rip off for the price and the pre-amps are muddy as sin.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 03:12 AM   #26
drocorth
Registered User
 
drocorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by reincarnator
For video recording, I usually record video and audio at the same time. I usually record from my phone or tablet, and then sync it up later with the audio on PC. Make sure to have a cue of some sort or it becomes a nightmare to sync stuff up.


thank you so much, i'll keep that in mind!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigbazz
Nothing wrong with the UX2, I borrowed and used one in a pinch when my sound card short circuited and caught on fire. Preamps sounded decent (not too noisy) and live monitoring was doable without latency. From what I gather they are pretty cheap and come with a lot of sounds with the software, Not saying it's the best option out there but I don't buy into the idea that there is anything wrong with it, it will do what you want and will give you quality recordings. I recorded this https://soundcloud.com/bluelightrid...-ride-this-wont with a UX2, before I bought a Presonus Firestudio and handed the UX2 back to its owner.


Oh, i know that. But what i was told by, focusrite has a better preamp then line6. line6 is ok. but its price is more expensive than it should be.
drocorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 06:30 AM   #27
drocorth
Registered User
 
drocorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
hey guys again me is there anyway that i can get delay sound with sim.s? like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=chyzdkJOM6s#t=0m53s
drocorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:15 AM   #28
jof1029
GO HOKIES!
 
jof1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atl, GA
there are plenty of delay vst plugins out there. most DAWs will come with one. might not be exactly like the one in the vid, but will get you a delay.
__________________
I hope you meet someone your height
So you can see eye-to-eye
With someone as small as you

I have donated 3920 grains of rice!
jof1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 05:36 AM   #29
drocorth
Registered User
 
drocorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
i hope i dont bother you guys. in the sticky amp sims. thread i see always a high gain simulators. where can i find od tones or lesser distortion tones?
drocorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 07:55 AM   #30
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Most online people like high gain stuff so more of them get made. Though saying that the LePou Hybrit and the Ignite Anvil are what I tend to go to for good crunch tones. There are some AMAZING crunch amp sims out there, but most of them are retail.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 08:50 AM   #31
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by drocorth
i hope i dont bother you guys. in the sticky amp sims. thread i see always a high gain simulators. where can i find od tones or lesser distortion tones?


for the cleaner tones I would check out a GTR demo ( PRS amps are very nice ) & pod farm is also good.
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:00 AM   #32
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
I'd agree actually Cleans are something that PodFarm is actually good for, it's high gain is awful though. Personally I think if you were going retail that Amplitube would be good since you can buy the amps separately. That with the Orange amps would be pretty good I think.

Though if you want something that does one thing, and does it well then you'll want to check out this company: http://www.kuassa.com/products

They're stuff is considered the most responsive by regulars. Their Vermillion Sim would fit your need for OD/Clean sounds too.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.

Last edited by ChemicalFire : 05-01-2013 at 09:06 AM.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:10 PM   #33
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Man check out the HEQ wave plugin, it is SO easy to find and clean up amp sim issues using the peak level meter VERY nice

http://www.waves.com/content.aspx?id=11818

anyone know of any other EQ plugins with this feature ?

Trying the demo today and I'll buy tomorrow I think,. after I give today's mix a listen with new ears )
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.

Last edited by T4D : 05-01-2013 at 01:15 PM.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 01:20 PM   #34
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Peak? As in the waveform behind the EQ lines?

A lot of EQ's have them, even some free ones.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:41 PM   #35
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalFire
Peak? As in the waveform behind the EQ lines?

A lot of EQ's have them, even some free ones.



which ones ?....


I've done abit of google time and all i can find is

http://hofa-plugins.de/pages/start_en/hofa-iq-eq_en.php

might do what the H-EQ does but costs more ( waves special is current $99 )

OR uses the standard eq with spectrum metering like

http://www.bluecataudio.com/Product...ct_FreqAnalyst/

or the meters that comes with PT.

but a separate windows is not as good workflow wise as the H-EQ i'm guessing.
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.

Last edited by T4D : 05-02-2013 at 12:17 AM.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:09 AM   #36
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
I could be wrong but I think EasyQ has them.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 06:13 AM   #37
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
The proper (non Rea-Plugs) version of ReaEQ does that, it's quite useful for finding stray frequencies
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:41 AM   #38
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
All I know is that the ProEQ is S1 does it. So I'm happy.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:21 AM   #39
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
ProEQ does look like it does the trick Not many do it.

the visual meter makes finding the Amp sim issues SO much easier
looking at ProEQ from http://www.fabfilter.com/products/p...ualizer-plug-in

abit better for sure but the price ..hmm I emailed them for a coupon they seem to give them out when I googled it..

the wave H-EQ $99 offer with a $100 discount coupon is pretty good.
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 08:39 AM   #40
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Haha when I said "ProEQ" I was referencing StudioOne's stock EQ which has that name
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.