Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-29-2013, 08:33 AM   #1
hriday_hazarika
is a Space Lion. ^___^

Should I wait for a bass with passive pickups or go for the one with actives?

Hallo.

Today, I went to a shop and tried playing a few 5-stringers. I tried a Warwick Rockbass Streamer, but the store only had the LX 5 in stock, which has active pickups. It was an absolute joy to play, and I imagine the feel of the model with the passive pickups will be the same.

Now, I'm wondering whether I should wait for the store to get the passive model or go ahead and buy the active model.

I'll be using the bass to record directly into my computer through an interface. I'm not going to be gigging any time soon, so I don't really think I need the extra power that active pickups provide. However, I have had no experience with active pickups before, so my opinion is uneducated. I have a 7-string guitar that also has passive pickups, and I am happy with how it sounds. It's actually very loud, and if I go past a certain level, it hurts my ears. So, I'm thinking it'll be a similar situation with a passive bass, since I only need to increase the input volume if I want it to be louder.

I also tried one of the Ibanez SR models [can't remember which number] and an LTD model. The Ibanez was also really nice to play. It was unexpectedly light; even lighter than my 7-string, lol. The LTD felt really meh. I couldn't navigate the fretboard very well, and overall, it just didn't feel conducive to my playing. I also tried a Schecter Omen Extreme 5 [at a different store], and that was much better than the LTD, but not as good as the Warwick or Ibanez.