Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > New Members Q&A Forum
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 05-03-2013, 09:10 PM   #1
VelvetBananas

Post What can I do to improve my singing?

Hey I am new here, and I am also new to singing. I am 15 years old and not 100% tone deaf but there is just something about my voice that just doesn't sound right. Any help is greatly appreciated!! The song I am singing is "After Hours" by the Velvet Underground. Also I recorded this in one take so you can say about my guitar playing (I play much better not singing, and I know I messed up a bit) but I am really just looking for singing help. Thanks!!

[forbidden link]
VelvetBananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:11 PM   #2
VelvetBananas

picosong.com /FfVq/
It is this but take out the space sorry it is a forbidden link
VelvetBananas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 06:14 PM   #3
dog_style
UG Senior Member

practice. practice makes near perfect. but don't over practice.

i practice by singing along with challenging songs, then sing along with a karaoke version to not get used to the original version controlling my pitch.
dog_style is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 08:50 PM   #4
krm27

When I was 13, I took a chorus class at school. The teacher had a machine, a bit smaller than a toaster, that showed if you were hitting a particular note. Some of the time, but actually not that often, he'd pull it out and have us try to hit a particular note after he played it on piano. I was not very good at this. In fact, I sucked. However, though I never said it at the time, I always thought if I just had that machine, or one like it, at home and could use it at my leisure, it would enable me to train myself to hit the right notes, because it shows you when you are above or below the note, and you just need to alter your voice till you get it right. Over time, I figured it was a sure fire way to learn to sing.