Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 05-07-2013, 01:42 PM   #1
Lyrax
I need a weapon.
 
Lyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Göteborg, Sweden.
Can I reamp with a Focusrite 2i4?

What`s up?
So I am about to buy my first recording setup which consists of a Focusrite 2i4, Reaper and a sm57.
Some dude told me that once I get the stuff I should learn to reamp guitars.
Is it possible with the Focusrite and how do I get about doing this?

I know that you record a clean tone so you can run it through it through different gained amps and stuff, but how will I be able to hear myself playing the stuff distorted without the amp being distorted?

I have an AX3000G multi effects board with a lot of out and inputs if that would help.
__________________
Dissonance is underrated.
Lyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:11 PM   #2
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Frozen North! (read: Northern Wisconsin)
http://whobecame.blogspot.com/2010/...-in-reaper.html -- Don't ask me if that blog is correct or not, because I don't know.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:23 PM   #3
Lyrax
I need a weapon.
 
Lyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Göteborg, Sweden.
Well, if we aren`t sure if it is correct, then we shouldn`t trust it!
__________________
Dissonance is underrated.
Lyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 02:38 PM   #4
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Frozen North! (read: Northern Wisconsin)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyrax
Well, if we aren`t sure if it is correct, then we shouldn`t trust it!

Errrmmm...no, that wasn't the point...

Edit:
The point was, the article tells you how to reamp guitars, but I don't know a thing about reamping. Therefore, I don't know if that's the best way to do it or not.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld

Last edited by crazysam23_Atax : 05-07-2013 at 03:14 PM.
crazysam23_Atax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 07:57 PM   #5
jof1029
GO HOKIES!
 
jof1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atl, GA
you will need either a passive DI, or a reamp box. and of course the required cables. other than that, you should have all you need.

the idea is to record direct into your interface, you would use the instrument inputs for this. you can set up a track to monitor your input (with an amp sim if you want), but you want to record nothing but the raw signal.

next you run from the line output on the interface (make sure your recording is sent to that output) to the output of your passive DI (or input of reamp box) and then the input (output on reamp box) to your amp. when you push play, the signal will go to your amp. you mic up the amp and record that on a new track as the dry signal is playing.

following the steps in that guide will get you where you need to go. though honestly, if you are just getting your first recording setup, i wouldnt worry about reamping yet. you should familiarize yourself with some other things before tackling that.
__________________
I hope you meet someone your height
So you can see eye-to-eye
With someone as small as you

I have donated 3920 grains of rice!
jof1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 09:46 PM   #6
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
 
axemanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
The thing is that, with a line straight from your interface, or going through a DI box, you *should* be successful *much* of the time, with some careful messing around.

With a reamp box, you *will* be successful *pretty much all* of the time, without much fussing about.

CT
__________________
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
axemanchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 02:42 AM   #7
Lyrax
I need a weapon.
 
Lyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Göteborg, Sweden.
Thanks!
I`ll just wait till I get used to the recording stuff to begin with. Then I`ll probably have a better understanding for these kinds of stuff.
__________________
Dissonance is underrated.
Lyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.