Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Closed Thread
Old 05-09-2013, 09:16 AM   #1
NapalmBreakfast

Bla-bla-bla Whats the difference between guitar and bass playing?

I'm serious this has never been clarified for me, and its quite obvious that the four strings of a typical bass are the same ones of a guitar? Honestly, other than technique (slapping etc.) what's the difference?

I'm a drummer and I need my guitarist! See profile.
NapalmBreakfast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 09:29 AM   #2
Shor

Listen...to...music.

Seriously..listen to music.. and listen to what the bass does and what the guitar does.

edit: And just as importantly...listen to how the drums interact with the bass or vice versa depending on how you look at it.
Noiseboxes:
ENGL Retro Tube 50
5150 III 50W
Orange Terror Bass
Shor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:02 AM   #3
anarkee
oh the horror!

The bass player's function, along with the drums, is to be the engine that drives the car... everything else is merely colours.--

Suzi Quatro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutter_101
Don't you mean "Why do we alcoholics keep taking about bass?"?
anarkee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:21 AM   #4
maXterbat0r

Bass tends to cover more of the rhythm/lower frequencies, while guitar is more free to add colour in chords and such and take a more melodic role.

Bass strings are the same notes as the 4 lowest strings of a guitar, but these are an octave lower. This makes it so the bass can cover a different sonic space than guitar tends to.
maXterbat0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:18 AM   #5
5_Years_Dead
Banned

The guitar is a wind instrument, you gotta blow to make it work. The bass is percussion instrument, you gotta beat on it to make it work.

Ask me anything. I got all the answers.
5_Years_Dead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 11:31 AM   #6
AndyGray
UG Addict