Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 05-12-2013, 10:29 AM   #1
breau

guitar for a brand new guitarist

Hello everyone,

I have just recently started trying to learn how to play the guitar using my moms Epi DR-100 but want to purchase my own guitar as I have just finished university and am moving out and cant bring the guitar with me. Because I am a student and am still not 100% sure I will stick with playing I do not want to spend too much on my new guitar.

I have been looking at 2 different guitars:
1) a Yamaha 325 for 160$
OR
2) a Fender CD-60 for 200$ which also comes with a free hard case

I have heard some negative things about Fender's acoustic guitars but I am looking for any input about the two guitars, which do you think is better, or if you have any suggestions for other guitars around that price. I know that I need to go and play them to see which feels best for me but I would still like to get
some feedback on these 2 guitars

Thanks!
breau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 10:57 AM   #2
xxunder-takerxx
The UT

any opposition to used guitars? chances are you'll get better for the money, and cheap guitars usually don't come out of the factory all that well but second hand, someone may have fixed factory issues.
1989 Starforce (GFS PowerRails)
Morley Tremonti Power Wah, TS7 (808-Mod), Pitchblack, Boss DD-3, DE FnC
xxunder-takerxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 11:03 AM   #3
breau

no opposition as long as the guitar is in good condition and has been well taken care of
Old 05-12-2013, 01:55 PM   #4
supersac

i can definately say that yamaha gutiars are great guitars for the price

ive found many of them in used yard sales and fleamarkets for about 40-50 bucks or so and i have a couple of them for students to play on or freind to jam with when theyre here

but yeah going used would be your best bet for affordable and quiality

Quote: