Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 05-21-2013, 07:00 PM   #1
kashmir0109

Steel String Suggestion for an advanced guitarist?

I'm a professional electric guitarist and I have quite a bit of experience under my belt with it. I love Acoustic but I never got into it as much as electric and I'm not as good with it, but I'm still pretty experienced.

I'm looking for a 6 string acoustic electric for $800-$1000. I flat pick mostly but also fingerpick from time to time, I like clear and definable notes but with a really resonant and full/sustaining tone. I also appreciate a beautifully crafted guitar. I realize my price range isn't too high for all of these requests but I'm hoping I can get something at least nice. Any suggestions?
kashmir0109 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 08:12 PM   #2
stepchildusmc

Blueridge would be a good choice as would a Yamaha L series.<<<< not a stockholder in either company nor do i own either. i would like to have one of each but i get too distracted by all the others...... sigh.....eventually.
i do enjoy the bluesy feel of the blueridges when i go try out new guitars.
picking out an acoustic is much easier than finding an opinion on an electric...so many choices !!! most sound the same to me except when you get into Les Pauls and real Strats.
stepchildusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 10:45 PM   #3
chadbo

Martin DRS1 or DRS2
Ibanez AW3000CEWC
Yamaha A-Series Dreadnought
chadbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:19 AM   #4
tonyguitar101

For your budget, there are several brands you can consider, Martin, Taylor, Guild, Seagull, Blueridge...etc
tonyguitar101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:41 AM   #5
patticake
Acoustic Goddess

you aren't going to get a beautifully crafted guitar in this price range, but there are some nice guitars with resonant tone.