Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 05-25-2013, 12:01 AM   #1
shoe11

Does playing acoustic guitar increase finger speed?

I started out playing electric. I've been playing for a few months and have gotten where I can play a lot of rhythm and a few solos (no shredders). A few days I purchased an acoustic online and haven't gotten the action lowered yet, but I still have been playing on it. It's been really rough on my fingers. But tonight I decided to plug in again and just started playing some scales and I noticed that I'm able to just fly through the notes and bend with ease. Does playing the acoustic strengthen my fingers to be able do that, or is it just me growing as a guitarist?
shoe11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 07:56 AM   #2
clegtr
Let me think...

I think it definetely strengthens your fingers a lot. Finger speed is something different though. Better strength helps developing speed though.

-Douglas Adams
clegtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:01 AM   #3
EqualOfHeaven
The Great Sage

You growing as a guitarist is definitly to be taken into account. From experience I can definitly say there's benefit to playing acostic though, maybe not in terms of finger strength or anything else, but in terms of getting a raw appreciation for the intrument that's hard to find when it's plugged in. Acoustics are by their nature more responsive and so give you a better feel for picking dynamics and precision on the fretting hand.

It'd also be worth taking into account the fact that you haven't lowered the action yet, playing with tighter action will definitly increase finger strength and make it easier to go back to low action. Not that I'd recommend putting yourself through pain and discomfort in order to strengthen your fingers. Music must be aesthetic, not ascetic.
EqualOfHeaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2013, 08:28 AM   #4
ryanbwags