Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Reages
Registered User
 
Reages's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Need help with cab impedance

Hey, i need to connect amp head to a Engl cab. In example #2 as i understand i should set heads impedance to 8 ohm and not 16 ohm because cab impedance is 8 ohm?
http://www.engl-amps.com/cms/upload...s/412-OM_08.pdf
Reages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 06:17 PM   #2
Kindred_Future
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Cab impedance should always meet or exceed the Amps requirement. If your amp head says 8 ohms minimum, than you can use 8 or 16 ohm cab. If it's switchable just make them match.
__________________
Guitars are like my babies... except without that useless baby meat...
Kindred_Future is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 06:24 PM   #3
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
^ gtfo if you don't know what you're talking about, you'll damage (possibly) people's expensive equipment with crap advice like that. that's for SS amps, not valve amps.

Yeah if your cab is rated at 8 ohms, plug into your amp's 8 ohm output. And make sure the cab is set to "mono". With valve amps you should be matching the impedances.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
We had a guy in the band admit that he liked Nickelback. We immediately started looking for his replacement.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 06:50 PM   #4
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
 
jthm_guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Coast USA
If you have that 1 amp and 1 cab, use example 2: "8 Ohm" jack on the head to the "Input" on the cab in mono mode. Use a SPEAKER (not instrument) cable and you're good to go.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrashtastic15
when you sense an attack slap the sack

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 08:50 PM   #5
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kindred_Future
Cab impedance should always meet or exceed the Amps requirement. If your amp head says 8 ohms minimum, than you can use 8 or 16 ohm cab. If it's switchable just make them match.


this is true for solid state amps, but it seems he is dealing with a tube amp. tube amps want the impedance matched.

@TS, yup. set it to 8 ohms, and connect it to an 8 ohm cab using a speaker cable.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 04:54 AM   #6
Reages
Registered User
 
Reages's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
got it, thanks for the answers
Reages is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:59 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.