Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 06-15-2013, 03:20 PM   #1
dsomma93

Ringing notes while playing?

I've been playing guitar for about 5 years. I just noticed how sloppy I am.

For example, when I solo with a clean tone, I notice when I'm on a string(let's say the g string) and do an 8-6-4 pulloff, the b string rings out sometimes. I'm not sure if it's my left hand-- i'm pulling off, so to pull off vertically while still having it be a strong pulloff seems impossible. I can't really mute the string with my right hand because that would change the way i'm palm muting or how my hand is resting

What would be the best way to clean up my playing?

It's not really noticeable, but sometimes you can hear the notes. When I listen to people playing the same things online, I can't hear it. i'm not sure if it's a problem.

youtube(DOT)com/watch?v=3cWa6C0OBqs
Fluffy by chon playthrough.

This guy sounds clean. I always have some ringing from other string when I play-- nothing major, but if you try hard you can definitely hear it.

I feel like it's physically impossible to not touch the other strings at all-- if i just grace it, I can hear something.

My fingers aren't huge. i'm 5'9 and my hands/fingers are proportional.
youtube(DOT)com/watch?v=myAtU75-fD0

if i put my finger on a string and literally take it vertically off to the guitar (not playing anything), the string sticks to my finger.
I need to mute this-- it's not a matter of preventing the noise, but muting i'm assuming.
if i move from the b string to a 5-7-8 run on the high e string, should my left pointer finger be gently touching the b string? i can't get rid of this excess noise, but i can mute it