Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Bands & Artists > Blues & Jazz
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 06-19-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
Bob Dolan :D

Autumn's leaves key?

Hello I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but ill take a shot considering its the Jazz/Blues forum..

I'm fairly new to jazz playing, but i have done quite a bit of theory before this, and I thought it would be a good idea to try learn some jazz standards, and went with one of my favourites, Autumn leaves..

I've always played the song in the Key of G, but the other day I came across a video of Stanley Jordan playing it.

[forbidden link] - very cool use of 2 guitars

However, I took the melody as I know it (VI,VII, I, IV - for the first group of notes) up to higher octave like he plays it, but it didn't sound right, and when I tried to transcribe it, it found that it was obviously the same interval of notes, but a half tone higher, in the key of Ab..

So my question is, is he just playing it in a different key to what its usually played in, are am I just missing something?

And also, I have a shaking feeling my ears might be deceiving me, cause I've only recently stopped using tabs, and started using my ears, and I might be wrong about the whole thing..

Thanks in advance
Bob Dolan :D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:36 PM   #2
FrauVfromPoB
A Reasonably Talented Guy

People play standards in different keys all the time. It also could be due to Youtube compression, or someone altering the pitch to dodge copyright issues.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewis Lightfoot
I opened the door and went round and round and I banged my head and then my arm fell off.
FrauVfromPoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 01:18 PM   #3
mattrusso

First of all, the key of that tune is E minor, not G major.

FrauVfromPoB is exactly right. It's probably just being played in a different key, but people do sometimes change the pitch on YouTube so as not to get sued.