Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 06-23-2013, 12:43 PM   #1
46 and 2

Bass amp advice

Hey bass forum, I'm looking for some new amplification.

I'm looking to upgrade from my current amp (a Laney RB2 combo) to something louder with better tone. I currently play in a rock n' roll band that gigs about twice a week on average. We play a lot of Who, Stones and Chili Peppers. I'm looking for something that'll primarily give me a wide variety of tone. I play a Fender Jazz Geddy Lee sig.

I also need to point out that as far as cabs and heads go, I'm a complete novice. I know really very little about ohms and such and, being not very bright, haven't managed to glean much from a Google search.

I have a budget of about 400, 500 at the very most. It's also worth mentioning that I live in a fairly remote part of the north of Scotland, so used gear would be quite difficult to come by.

Thanks in advance.
46 and 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:58 PM   #2
JKing138

If your not sure about ohms and that stuff, a solid combo would be the easiest option. Ashdown, GK and ampeg are popular choices, Ashdowns are pretty widely available and have a good rep and pretty versatile.
JKing138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:07 AM   #3
46 and 2

Ok, thanks. I'll take a look at those.
Old 06-25-2013, 05:12 AM   #4
JKing138

I forgot to mention Orange and Peavey, just see what you can get hold of and try a few out.
JKing138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 07:35 AM   #5
Phil Starr