Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 06-26-2013, 03:42 PM   #1
mjpb

How often do you learn a new song?

I'm a beginner and wondering how often you all learn new songs by other musicians
mjpb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:19 PM   #2
johnyere

I'm always working on a couple of songs at once, it keep things fresh. Once I get a song to the point where I think I could perform it, I move on to a new song (I still try to keep most songs in my repertoire, so I still practice them even when I can play them at a decent level).

Remember, that's only what works for ME, it might not necessarily be what's best for you.
johnyere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:53 PM   #3
Nikkie89

Hey there,

I'm a beginner also. Most of the songs I learn come from a guitar lesson + songbook by a
guitar teacher. I'm not going to advertise here!

Anyway, the lesson book is divided into ''stages'', every stage teaches a new technique, and the songbook reflects these ''stages'' and techniques.

So I want to say that I learn about 8 songs per stage. Probably every other 2-3 months or so.

(PM me if you want to know the lesson book and song book I'm talking about, since I don't want to do any advertising here)
Nikkie89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:17 PM   #4
Nero Galon
Alright, Alright, Alright

When I started out, in the first couple of months I'd practice a few songs. Possibly too many all at once but i'm way passed that now. Sometimes its best to focus on one or two things rather than a bunch.
Nero Galon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:56 PM   #5
Black Hazard

Hardly ever nowadays, the shit I listen to now is hard and takes too long to learn. I'd feel more motivated if my guitar wasn't messed up.
Black Hazard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:00 PM   #6
Dr.Cheese