Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > New Members Q&A Forum
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 07-14-2013, 12:23 PM   #1
Jeremy'97

Guitar upgrades for dirt cheap guitar...?

I've received my first electric guitar from my a friend of my sister, a cheap Samick strat copy. he said he the bought the guitar for 300 (in Canada) he says it works fine after 10+ years of not playing it, but there are some problems I've been noticing for these past 7 months;

.The first tone knob doesn't work at all
.Horrible buzzing on the g string,
.the e and b string frequently won't pick up on amps unless struck forcefully,
. It is impossible to hold more then one one string with a finger even if barred until the 3rd fret.
.Some tuners won't work at all until turned a few times, and then it begins to actually tune(tested)
.Action is not even at all, some places impossible to bend
.No tuss rod cover

Anyway, I want to go get new pick ups for this guitar and fix it, but I looked up this guitar and its worth $60 in good condition. The problem I'm having is, I know I'm most likely going to buy a much better guitar in the winter, but I want to have a relatively good sounding and playing guitar as I plan on doing some small proformances with friends. I'd like some advice if I should upgrade and fix this guitar or just get a squier or epi, as a friend recommended me to do, who said his plain squier bullet was much better then it. Any feedback is great, thanks guys.
Jeremy'97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 04:57 PM   #2
Xeus
I drink and fight

It may end up end being cheaper and easier just to get yourself a nice squire,epi etc. However I'd keep your cheap one for modding/messing around with later on. I did a similar thing with a cheapy les paul of mine in so far as i got a friend to swirl paint the body. Looks pretty cool!

Manchester guitarist available. Blues rock/ "alternative" krazy_konzi@yahoo.com
Xeus is offline   Reply With Quote