Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 08-03-2013, 03:32 PM   #1
Clay-man
Say no to saying no
 
Clay-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Routing interface output to amp input? Impedance level stuff.

I was wondering if it was ok to route my interface's output to my amp's guitar input.
Not good? I know I can put it in Return FX or Power Amp Input, but I was wondering if the guitar input was ok too.

Speaking of impedance levels, when I use a pedal, do I switch my interface input to Line level or do I keep it on Instrument level?
Clay-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:14 PM   #2
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
It shouldn't be any different from taking the output from an active instrument so I think it would be okay.
depends on the pedal really, but most of the time I would use instrument level still. Although unless it's some particular boutique pedal or an expression pedal of some sort then I would usually do effects in post with VSTs over a pedal.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:26 AM   #3
tim_mop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
The guitar input is a really really high impedance level, the line output isn't high enough. the thing to do is use a passive DI box backwards.
tim_mop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 01:27 PM   #4
OfCourseNot
There's your answer
 
OfCourseNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim_mop
The guitar input is a really really high impedance level, the line output isn't high enough. the thing to do is use a passive DI box backwards.

So instead of guitar>guitar input of DI box>linked output of DI box> interface, you do
interface>linked output of DI box>guitar input of DI box> pedals/amp?

Also my DI box has a button on the front that says level/speaker. Should it be on "speaker" if I'm routing my interface to the amp?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCPhils
According to that chart, women like men with a Pringle canister down there.

Gear:
Michael Kelly Patriot Glory
Blackstar HT 20 w/ Jet City cab
whole bunch o' pedals
OfCourseNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 05:42 AM   #5
tim_mop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
^ That's right. Assuming link output is the balanced XLR bit?

The level should be the same as you'd plug your guitar into. Speaker if for connecting between the amp and the speaker when going the normal way.
tim_mop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 10:00 AM   #6
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
There are also specialist reamp boxes, passive and active.
__________________
Pol-i-tics (pol-i-tiks) n. 1. 'Poli' means many.
2. ' Tics' means blood-sucking insects
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 01:20 PM   #7
OfCourseNot
There's your answer
 
OfCourseNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by tim_mop
^ That's right. Assuming link output is the balanced XLR bit?

The level should be the same as you'd plug your guitar into. Speaker if for connecting between the amp and the speaker when going the normal way.

Regular output is balanced XLR, link output is TS 1/4in. Looking at the diagram on the front of the box it's just a direct connection to the input with the option of a ground lift. So that would be the same as plugging the interface directly into the amp (and lifting the ground). This is the direct box I have. It can take phantom power which I need for my magnetic acoustic pickup. I also have the Presonus Firestudio Project which has a lot of routing options, but the sends/returns are line level. So... I'm not really sure what to do.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCPhils
According to that chart, women like men with a Pringle canister down there.

Gear:
Michael Kelly Patriot Glory
Blackstar HT 20 w/ Jet City cab
whole bunch o' pedals

Last edited by OfCourseNot : 08-05-2013 at 01:26 PM.
OfCourseNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 01:34 PM   #8
tim_mop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
You should try going out of the interface into the XLR of the DI, then fron the input of the DI into the input of the amp. Use the battery power. Last time I tried with an active it didnt work for some reason, but that's the way it should work.
tim_mop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 03:27 PM   #9
OfCourseNot
There's your answer
 
OfCourseNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
The interface doesn't have an XLR out. Do I need to buy an adapter? I'm also wanting to run it through my pedal board. Would it be bad to just turn down the line output and run it through the pedal board into the amp?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCPhils
According to that chart, women like men with a Pringle canister down there.

Gear:
Michael Kelly Patriot Glory
Blackstar HT 20 w/ Jet City cab
whole bunch o' pedals
OfCourseNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 06:07 PM   #10
tim_mop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Just done a bit of reading on the subject to remind myself:

Turns out this probably won't work with your particular DI box. As it's active it will present a fixed impedance on both sides, and on the XLR side this will be mic level rather line level.

Impedance mismatches cause problems with frequency response when the impedance combines with the capacitance of a long cable, but more importantly if I've read this right it can cause your signal to pull more current than it should, which could fry your pedals.

Can anyone confirm that? I'm sleepy!
tim_mop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 12:35 AM   #11
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Reamp box man.
__________________
Pol-i-tics (pol-i-tiks) n. 1. 'Poli' means many.
2. ' Tics' means blood-sucking insects
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 10:24 PM   #12
Clay-man
Say no to saying no
 
Clay-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolical
Reamp box man.

+1
Thank you.
Clay-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:08 AM   #13
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
@Clayman - just make sure you got the right cable, I found out the hard way that the Reamper by Radial needs male to male XLR cable so had to make one.
__________________
Pol-i-tics (pol-i-tiks) n. 1. 'Poli' means many.
2. ' Tics' means blood-sucking insects
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 11:01 PM   #14
Clay-man
Say no to saying no
 
Clay-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolical
@Clayman - just make sure you got the right cable, I found out the hard way that the Reamper by Radial needs male to male XLR cable so had to make one.


I'll probably use fx return or preamp in for now. 100 bucks is a bit much for me. Just looking for ideas to jam with my interface/plugins and a real amp/cab combo.
Clay-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 11:34 PM   #15
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
You can also try reamping via mixer if you have one or a clean boost pedal to bring up the volume. Not optimal but it probably gets close.
I used an Art Tube MP before I got the reamp box to boost signal about 20db.

If you're handy with a soldering gun I have schematics for a reamp box from a tech guy from another forum, the parts come up to about $30 but I found the Radial at 20% off at musiciansfriend as they had coupons and got it there instead.
__________________
Pol-i-tics (pol-i-tiks) n. 1. 'Poli' means many.
2. ' Tics' means blood-sucking insects
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 08:41 PM   #16
OfCourseNot
There's your answer
 
OfCourseNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
So I have a single stereo male TRS to 2 mono female TRS splitter cable. This makes the output of the interface unbalanced but still leaves it at high impedance. Can I run it through a tuner pedal that has true bypass to bring it to low impedance? Or will that fry it?

note: I would use my DI box to lift the ground. And no, I can't use the box in reverse without buying a special adapter cable.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCPhils
According to that chart, women like men with a Pringle canister down there.

Gear:
Michael Kelly Patriot Glory
Blackstar HT 20 w/ Jet City cab
whole bunch o' pedals
OfCourseNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 04:40 AM   #17
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Guitar is HiZ, so I think the output of your card will be LoZ, so you need to bring it back up to HiZ by reversing the DI box.
I believe your conversion needs to be existing dry line-level signal (as +4 dB output, unless -10db) from the interface and send it to the hi-z/instrument input jack of the amp (as -10 dB input). Not sure what the tuner pedal will do in the conversion chain.
__________________
Pol-i-tics (pol-i-tiks) n. 1. 'Poli' means many.
2. ' Tics' means blood-sucking insects
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 02:09 PM   #18
OfCourseNot
There's your answer
 
OfCourseNot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
So I need to buy a cable that will go from male TRS (balanced) to female XLR (balanced) so I can line my interface out to my DI box's output. Then a cable from the DI box's input to my pedal board input, then to the amp? And since my interface outputs at +4dB as you've said, do I need to attenuate the guitar DI signal by 14dB?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCPhils
According to that chart, women like men with a Pringle canister down there.

Gear:
Michael Kelly Patriot Glory
Blackstar HT 20 w/ Jet City cab
whole bunch o' pedals
OfCourseNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 05:41 PM   #19
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Depends how your interface output is setup (should be somewhere in the specs).
Not sure about the cables, 1/4 out to male XLR on the audio card to DI box I think, and a fem. XLR to 1/4 to the amp, not sure. As far as the interface attenuation - might be at +4db, check the manual. I have one at -10db and one at +4db, so it is different on each.

I just thought of another thing that you might try which might work out easier, not sure which results will be better. FX send on the amp into a speaker emulation vst (IR) plugin. This one for example:
http://lepouplugins.blogspot.com/2009/07/lecab-v10.html

Then you can scour the web for IR files which will work to your liking. Kalthallen IRs, Red Wire Impulses, GuitarHacks Impulses are some of the ones I've been playing around lately.
__________________
Pol-i-tics (pol-i-tiks) n. 1. 'Poli' means many.
2. ' Tics' means blood-sucking insects

Last edited by diabolical : 08-15-2013 at 05:43 PM.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:10 PM   #20
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
 
axemanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Just to mention once more, this is what a reamp box is specifically designed for.

CT
__________________
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
axemanchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:34 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.