Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-12-2013, 01:06 PM   #1
RoKHED
Rock N' Roll Revivalist

US I suck at playing fast, any advice?

Okay, here's the thing... I have been playing for 1 3/4 yrs, and I cannot get a grasp on how to play fast, and sound good at the same time. I can only play fast by progressing up and down the same scale over and over until it gets annoying... I know all ranges of the petatonic scale, and can play the efficiently at about 90 bpm (rough guess...) unfortunately, I do not have a metronome for all your fancy methods. Is there perhaps a pattern I can play over and over to get "faster?" I can pick really fast, but I trip over myself when I try to go up & down the scales like Yngwie Malmsteen. I would like to play as fast as EVH or Yngwie by the time I graduate if at all possible...
Old 08-12-2013, 01:08 PM   #2
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoKHED
Okay, here's the thing... I have been playing for 1 3/4 yrs, and I cannot get a grasp on how to play fast, and sound good at the same time. I can only play fast by progressing up and down the same scale over and over until it gets annoying... I know all ranges of the petatonic scale, and can play the efficiently at about 90 bpm (rough guess...) unfortunately, I do not have a metronome for all your fancy methods. Is there perhaps a pattern I can play over and over to get "faster?" I can pick really fast, but I trip over myself when I try to go up & down the scales like Yngwie Malmsteen. I would like to play as fast as EVH or Yngwie by the time I graduate if at all possible...

Get better at playing slow. Stop thinking about speed. Don't give yourself a time line for getting to a certain pace.

Learn how to play well first, playing fast will come in time.
Old 08-12-2013, 02:19 PM   #3
perilio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaphod_Beeblebr
playing fast will come in time.

This