Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-13-2013, 12:47 AM   #1
DerkBTB

Wanting to get a good bass rig, would like your opinions

Hello,

I recently started playing bass around April, and after playing for these past few months I am wanting to invest in a bass rig of my own as I have been using a rig belonging to the band I play in. I have a few ideas on the direction I want to go in, but would love to hear opinions from more experienced players here. Some helpful information first off is that I own an Ibanez SR500, and I play in a PostHarcore/Metalcore band.

What I'm considering:

Sansamp rackmount

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Tech-21-SansAmp-RPM-Rackmount-Preamp-103017059-i1175934.gc?source=4WWRWXGP&kwid=productads-plaid^32411701361-sku^103017059@ADL4gc-adType^PLA-device^c-adid^13625724161

plus a good power amp

or a nice Vintage Fender Bassman Tube Head.

As far as a cabinent goes, I was considering a Fender Rumble 4x10 Cabinent.

Your input is greatly appreciated!

Last edited by DerkBTB : 08-13-2013 at 12:49 AM.
DerkBTB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 05:53 AM   #2
MaggaraMarine
Slapping the bass.

Budget?

To me it sounds pretty strange that you would run that expensive head into that cheap cabinet. I mean, Fender Rumble series is the cheapest series Fender has. And I'm sure you'll need to pay lots to get a Bassman head. Remember that speakers make a huge difference in sound. You don't want bad speakers.

Do you really need a Bassman head? It's just 50 or 100 watts (depending on the model), you won't get any clean sounds out of it at high volumes (if you are after clean tones - and even if you want dirt, I would rather buy a pedal for dirt because it might be that you will need a clean tone at some parts). And also, vintage Bassman + metalcore somehow doesn't sound right to me. You may want a bit more modern sound.