Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-15-2013, 06:31 AM   #1
Abomination94
Nocturnal Dominion

Location: Bleach is healthy. It's mostly water, and we're mostly water. Therefore, we are bleach.
Stuck in a rut deeper than the Mariana Trench

Hey everyone, not sure if this is where I should post this but it's too late now.

Basically, I need to know how to practice. I've been playing for about two years and I'm really unhappy with my progress. It's getting to the point where it's starting to affect other areas of my life. I desperately want to get better at everything guitar, from playing technique to composition and improvisation but I just don't know where to start. I'm self taught and I've only had something like 3 or 4 lessons in my life. I would love a teacher but I live in a very small rural town and there aren't any so I'm stuck trying to teach myself.

There's just so much to learn I have no idea where to begin, whenever I pick up my guitar I mess around with a few scales, try to memorize notes, maybe learn a chord but I don't really feel like that's doing anything and I end up fucking around for a while, getting frustrated and giving up.

Can you guys please help me set up some sort of practice routine, help me out with what I should be working on and learning etc.

I also recently took up the drums so if anyone can help me out there as well it would be much appreciated it's not as important as YouTube has plenty of cool lessons.

Thanks.

EDIT: I don't know if this is matters, but I'm primarily a metal player so any advice that would help my metal composing, playing etc would be great.
Slow decay
Putrid stench
The Light chokes and dies
Ave finis!
Ave finis!
Ave finis!
...In vacuo...

Last edited by Abomination94 : 08-15-2013 at 06:33 AM.
Abomination94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 07:26 AM   #2
Erc
UG's ultimate asshole