Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-16-2013, 12:27 AM   #1
notafishmonger

Improvisers...

Improv totally isn't my thing. At least not on the guitar, that's why I prefer planning stuff ahead of time.

I was just wondering how hard is it for improvisers out there to just come up with stuff on the go, right on the stage on the beat. I am astonished by how fast some guitarists can think and come up with shapes without memorizing the fingering itself.

As a bassist, I can tell what notes are in a chord or even memorize it when I walk through a song, but I don't have to memorize where I place my fingers all at once. Is there a trick or something guitar players use??
notafishmonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 12:41 AM   #2
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away

The thing is, most improvisers don't think in shapes. (Try telling a horn player to think "in shapes".) In fact, if you're a musician and don't think in "sound", you're doing it wrong.

While guitar is an instrument where it's easy to get stuck thinking in shapes, no musician should ever do that.

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.

Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 02:19 AM   #3
Sickz
Jazz Musician

It's exactly as crazysam said. Good improvisers don't think in shapes, they have worked on the connection between their ear and instrument so much that they can hear a line that sounds good in their head before they play it, and then know exactly how to play it on their instrument.

Playing by ear is what makes the difference between a good improviser and a bad one. You wouldn't believe how many times i have jammed with a group of people and the other guitarist have to ask what key we are in to improvise, while the rest of us just listen and play.

Think in sounds, not frets/shapes.

Quote: