Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-19-2013, 05:15 AM   #1
mbstyles

Help for a Noob

So I am getting back into guitar and it seems to be overwhelming to me. I tried using a teacher via Skype but that didnt work and my current teacher seems to be randomly throwing things at me without any type rhyme or reason. For example in the 6 weeks of using him he has thrown all the major scales at me in 3 positions (expecting me to know each note in each position), open triads for all keys full neck (strings e to g, a to b, d to e), closed triads all keys full neck, sight reading, intervals, and a few other things. Yet he hasnt even gone into basic chords. Keep in mind i am a newbie with no prior experience. It just seems daunting. I am having trouble enough remembering all the notes in the major scales much less where they all are on a particular scale. I mean if i think about it i can name the notes in the scale but I cant just rattle off the 6th interval in a the Eb scale or the 4th in the F#.

The point is, I am considering finding a new teacher, but in the interim I am looking for some information on a good starting point with learning the guitar. I do want to learn theory as well as technique but I cant learn it all in a month. How do you all go about it? Should I be learning all the scales in all the positions at the same time or should I stick with a couple at a time. Should I get those down solid back in forth before moving onto others or should I have them all on my plate and just progress much slower?