Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 09-11-2013, 02:22 PM   #1
West Riding

Which Guitar Strings?

Hi all,
I've just bought a Fender electro acoustic and I am wondering which are the best strings to put on it. I will try and set the guitar up myself but I am not very experienced so i may just end up taking it to a guitar shop to be done professionally.
West Riding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:19 PM   #2
KG6_Steven
Serving Knowledge

That's a pretty subjective question, TS. You're liable to get a different answer from everyone who responds. The best strings are the ones you like.

So, I'll give you my 2 cents... Personally, I prefer Elixir Nanowebs on my acoustics. They last a lot longer than phosphor bronze strings and will maintain tone better. Of course, you're going to find guys who don't like Elixir strings. You'll have to decide for yourself. To me, they're pricey, but worth it.
KG6_Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:32 PM   #3
West Riding

Sorry I could of given a better description. I have just bought an electro acoustic for the first time. I am a complete beginner, but I know the guitar will most likely need setting up and the strings replacing. I don't really know anything about strings, I just want some good suggestions for a good set of strings. Some that will suit my beginner status but also be very good quality both in sound and material.
Old 09-11-2013, 06:00 PM   #4
Captaincranky

Fender ships AE guitars (*) with their proprietary brand of coated brass, (80/20 alloy) strings. These are rather bright, as per Fender's typical tonal philosophy.

At least my "Sonoran" came with them.

You have to decide what kind of sound you'd like to get from the guitar. That should guide your choice of string.

Brass (80/20), are quite bright, whereas "phosphor bronze" are a bit warmer. (This holds true pretty much regardless of string brand).