Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 09-17-2013, 10:34 PM   #1
xnotorious

Broken Emg Pickups?

Yesterday when i was playing my ESP LTD-MH1000 Deluxe, i took a small break and when i came back to play it, the sound had almost completely diminished. I had to crank up the volume all the way up on my headphones just to hear a bit of sound when on a clean setting (I am using Guitar Rig 5 with a Behringer UCG102 guitar cable). I figured that the battery just died since I had been playing 12 hours a day nonstop for 2 months. However, when i changed the batteries, it was still quiet sounding (both pickups). I took out the EMGs and the connector under the pickup wasn't loose. So what suggestions do you guys have that could be causing this?

BTW- Both pickups are like this
xnotorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:39 PM   #2
MaaZeus

I bet its your guitar cable? Try wiggling it near the plug. If it scratches, get a new better cable.

ESP LTD F-50 + Tonezone
Cort EVL-Z4 + X2N
Cort EVL-K47B

Marshall Valvestate 8100
Randall RG1503
Peavey Valveking 100 MESA MOD
Peavey Rockmaster preamp

Line6 Pod X3
MaaZeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:47 PM   #3
xnotorious

Guitar cables can expire?
Old 09-18-2013, 12:04 AM   #4
yks9991

Yes, it's a cable- The amount of tiny wires that can break is astounding. If it's got metal housings around the connectors and you're decent with soldering, try opening it up and re-soldering the wires- If not, buy a new cable/use a different one that you own. If you're getting new cables, buy some nice thick ones with metal connectors so they're more durable and reparable in the future.

If you decide to buy a cheap cable you don't know what it's like to have a cable fail during a gig... it's bad.

Good luck!

~YKS
yks9991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 05:06 AM   #5
JNBloomy