Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 09-18-2013, 03:05 AM   #1
@guidance7

My first unaccompanied live performance in 10 days... HELP!!

Well I never would have guessed what my first post on the community would be about but here goes. I have been playing the steel string acoustic guitar for exactly a year this month. I'm self taught with gigabytes of lessons in my hardrive. I have covered a lot of jazz theory (mainly elements harmony and improvisation) and I can even sight read quavers (with reasonable rhythms) at an average of 70 bpm. I play the instrument as much as I can, averaging about 7 hrs practice per day, so my technique is improving well and I would say I'm proud of my progress over 12 months. I even formed a band with some very talented individuals a few months ago where I'm a major contributor in the song-writing (with lyrics being the exception). We've performed as a group a couple of times for about 30-50 people on average.

So now that you know a little bit to care I'll tell you more. I never use a flatpick, I'm either straight up playing classically, with the theatrical positioning of the guitar (which every lesson pretty much "insisted" I did) or I'm playing acoustic blues or many of my arrangements with C. Atkins thumb pick. This is what I do all the time. I've been training myself to be an unaccompanied guitarist in future and my hard-work will be rewarded in a few days as I auditioned and secured a spot to perform for an expected audience of 10 000 people at a concert on the 27th. I'll be the only solo guitarist there with the rest either doing poetry, rap, singing with a hired band or backing tracks.