Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 10-04-2013, 09:07 AM   #1
A3ON
Howdy.

What learning method is best for rock?

So I'm new to the guitar world. I'm taking lessons for open chords on an ESP Ltd M-50. My instructor seems like he really knows how to teach and he's been rated as one of the best in my state. A different instructor, who I have never taken lessons with, said I should be learning power chords instead of open,because I want to learn rock/metal. But idk...is it really that bad to start with the open chords first? I'm having a heck of a time trying to reach some frets on open chords...
A3ON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

I have never met a guitarist who could actually live without knowledge of basic open chords. Literally never.

You're having trouble because it's a new skill, give it time; the co-ordination will come as long as you keep up the practice.

As long as your teacher knows what your aims are you should probably assume that what you're doing has a purpose. You don't know enough to be able to tell what's going to be important down the line so learn everything you can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Foo
A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.

Zaphod_Beeblebr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:48 AM   #3
greg73

Trying to learn barre chords without open chords would be a pain I would imagine ! learn the open chords and the notes on at least the top 2 strings
greg73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 10:53 AM   #4
A3ON
Howdy.

That makes sense. But those F chords must really hate me
Old 10-04-2013, 11:02 AM   #5
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by A3ON
That makes sense. But those F chords must really hate me