Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 10-15-2013, 08:59 AM   #1
klevieter

does high-gain distortion cover up mistakes

Hey UG,

I have been playing electric guitar for over 4 years now. Since I am really into heavy metal I like the sound of heavy distortion. As a result, I have practiced most of the time with a high-gain distortion effect.

Recently, I read somewhere that heavy distortion tends to camouflage mistakes you make and therefore it seems that you are a better player than you really are. So I tried lowering the gain and it sounded like crap. A lot of notes became muted and overal it was not very smooth anymore.

Is this common or am I just a sucky player who needs to practice without the gain?
klevieter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 09:35 AM   #2
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by klevieter
Hey UG,

I have been playing electric guitar for over 4 years now. Since I am really into heavy metal I like the sound of heavy distortion. As a result, I have practiced most of the time with a high-gain distortion effect.

Recently, I read somewhere that heavy distortion tends to camouflage mistakes you make and therefore it seems that you are a better player than you really are. So I tried lowering the gain and it sounded like crap. A lot of notes became muted and overal it was not very smooth anymore.

Is this common or am I just a sucky player who needs to practice without the gain?

That is the exact reason people say you should practice clean; distortion does indeed cover up those kinds of weaknesses in your playing.

On the other hand distortion makes it blindingly obvious when you need to get better at muting and controlling noise.

The best players practice with both because they realise that each covers mistakes that the other reveals.
Old 10-15-2013, 09:53 AM   #3
MaaZeus