Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-12-2013, 01:57 PM   #1
gabrielstena

New electric guitar

Hello!

My name is Andy and I started playing electric guitar in January 2013, when I bought myself a Squier Jazzmaster. After that I pretty much never gone back to my "classical" nylon string baby.

Now I want to upgrade to a better guitar and I have considered lots and lots of different guitars...but really can't decide. I am into a lot of different things but mainly blues/garage rock thing (Rolling Stones/Black Keys-ish sound), Hendrix/Frusciante tones and even some jangly Smiths/R.E.M. stuff.

What I want is basically a guitar with good versatility, nice tones and good playability. The ones that I have tested and liked the most so far were:
  • Fender Strat (MiM or AM)
  • Fender Classic Player Jaguar Special HH (with coiltap)
  • Gibson Midtown Custom (will add Bigsby and change pickups if I get this one)
  • Gibson/Epiphone Les Paul (will add Bigsby if I get one)

What do you recommend? I am open for any suggestions

Last edited by gabrielstena : 11-12-2013 at 02:31 PM.
gabrielstena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:16 PM   #2
Roc8995

What amp are you using?

It's pretty hard to suggest things out of that list, they're all good guitars and it's really up to you which one to get.
Old 11-12-2013, 02:26 PM   #3
gabrielstena

I am using a Fender Superchamp X2 - IMO it's a great practice amp. Gives me great cleans and works great with my "Big Muff" fuzz pedal for dirtier sounds.

BTW, the list is just to show what I enjoyed playing, feel free to suggest something else!
Old 11-12-2013, 02:27 PM   #4
dannyalcatraz

Did you mean Gibson Midtown Classic, like this one?

http://reverb.com/item/24113-new-20...CFSEV7Aod93wAXQ

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!
dannyalcatraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 02:29 PM   #5
gabrielstena

Quote: