Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-05-2013, 12:04 PM   #1
ultimate_sound

Tuning a 6-string like a 7-string

Good day to you all ,

As the title suggests , I'm thinking of tuning my 6-string [ an ESP LTD KH-602 (has floyd-rose ) ] all the way down to drop A like on 7 strings ( AEADGB I think ) . Now, I'm no expert ( which is why I included the name of my guitar ) , but I would like to know if it is possible and if any damage will be done if it is tuned properly .
Anything else that needs to be done to it aside from adjusting the tension in the neck and intonation ?

Thank you

P.S. I don't mean to insult anyone , but please avoid telling me to go and buy a 7-string
ultimate_sound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:33 PM   #2
JackovSlayer
Registered Abuser

Get some very thick strings.
Old 12-05-2013, 12:37 PM   #3
donegan_zealot
UG's Clueless Guitarist

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate_sound
P.S. I don't mean to insult anyone , but please avoid telling me to go and buy a 7-string

I feel insulted and you should reaaallly think about looking into a 7-string
donegan_zealot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 12:46 PM   #4
dspellman

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate_sound
I would like to know if it is possible and if any damage will be done if it is tuned properly .
Anything else that needs to be done to it aside from adjusting the tension in the neck and intonation ?

You may want an extra spring or two in your Floyd Rose.
dspellman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 03:33 PM   #5
TheNumber6
GOD