Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-24-2013, 01:54 PM   #1
kanuhokage

Am I going good?

I started playing acoustic guitar this may 2013(for first time ever),bought electric a month later, and now December I can strum nearly all chords and play bar chords easily.I can play stairway to heaven and solo, sweet child o mine solo complete, I've been told I'm really good at it by few band members, I wanna know.... am I going good?
kanuhokage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2013, 02:32 PM   #2
vayne92
UG's Fedora Enthusiast

Listing what you listed actually means nothing. Your idea of "playing" solo's etc is very very different to an experienced players. I have a very strong feeling if you show me yourself playing that solo i will confidently be able to say "you can't play that solo". Also guitar is not a competition. Saying you can play bar chords easy too.. I can confidently assume that you can't. The only way we can judge if you're "going good" is if you post a video of yourself playing so you can have others critique it. Unfortunately it doesn't really mean anything, because as i said guitar is not a race, and unfortunately beginners all have this mindset that you should reach certain milestones at certain points. Guitar is absolutely nothing like guitar hero however.. You don't play one thing and suddenly move from beginner to intermediate, then play another and become an expert. It is absolutely NOTHING like that. It's kind of the curse of being a beginner guitarist though, because i think quite literally everyone subconsciously considers it a race when they begin, but over time you realize it really isn't and being able to play one thing and not another means shit all.

Sorry for being a dick about it, but it's the harsh reality. Noone cares what you can and can't play. It means nothing.
American Standard Tele 2012
Yamaha APX450
~~~
Line 6 POD HD500
Orange Dark terror