Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-13-2014, 12:51 PM   #1
solidhadriel

Need some help figuring out a few things

Hey guys, I'm looking to start recording my own songs.

I don't have drums, and I don't have any room for drums. With that said, I'd like to record drums and even bass as well. Is this something a midi can do?

I have a windows PC and I have no knowledge of using MIDIs or synths.

Can I do drums and/or bass with a midi (and does anyone recommend any in particular?)

Right now I have my guitars plugged into my Windows PC through my RockSmith USB audio cable. I think I need an interface (DAW?) too..

Thanks for any advice.
solidhadriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 01:49 PM   #2
MatrixClaw
UG God

There's an interface sticky at the top of the forum that will educate you on how you're going to record audio. For your DAW, I'd suggest you download Reaper. Its trial will last forever, though after the period, if you like it - you should buy it. It's only $60 and it supports a great, professional, program and community to continue to improve its software.

As far as bass goes - You can get the Mesa 400+ Zombass from Signals Audio for free on his website. Drums, download Kontakt Player from Native Instruments and the Factory Selection, both are free. Then Google Sennheiser DrumMic'a and load it up into Kontakt inside of Reaper.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.

www.SanctityStudios.com
MatrixClaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 02:10 PM   #3
solidhadriel

Quote:
Originally Posted by MatrixClaw