Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-15-2014, 01:25 AM   #1
PartyHuskies

Clean Slate - Need Pointers/Opinions on Getting a New Axe

Hello everyone, first time poster here. Here's the situation:

I've started playing guitar within the past few months, and buying/swapping guitars became sort of an addiction. What I just sold was my LTD 7-string, and my Epiphone G-400. I needed the extra cash. So I can see my budget being roughly around $400.00.

So here's the thing. Skill-wise, I wouldn't say I'm a beginner, but I'm definitely no maestro. More or less a novice. Something like that anyway. What I want to do is get a solid, affordable guitar that will last me a while and fit my play style. After I get better and increase my skills, I will move on to buying a higher-grade guitar.

Some of the styles I would like to dive into are Classic Rock, Hard Rock, Grunge, Post-grunge, a little bit of metal, etc. I would like to learn lead techniques, and I have learnt that I prefer a thinner-necked guitar. I know that only I can really find the best guitar that suits me, but what I would like to know is if there are any sort of brands/makes I should look out for quality and playability wise. You know, all that good stuff.

My instructor told me to look for an MIM Fender Strat/Tele. I would like to know your guys' thoughts/suggestions! Thanks for your time.
PartyHuskies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2014, 01:47 AM   #2
richards-keith