Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Singing & Vocals
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-15-2014, 08:40 PM   #1
LunaticVikingQu

How do I sing with a 'rasp'?

Howdy, so I've been singing for two years now, professionally that is. But something that I always wanted to do is sing with a rasp, and I don't mean screeching or growling, I mean the type of rasp like James Hetfield, I've looked up a ton of videos on it, but with very little results...The closest I've got to singing with a rasp was lowering the 'growls' of Death Metal growling, but to be honest, that doesn't sound too good.
Thanks in advance!
LunaticVikingQu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 06:15 PM   #2
HotspurJr

In my opinion, the only guys who sing good with that kind of rasp are the people who naturally have it.
HotspurJr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 02:44 PM   #3
merriman44

Thats the fun thing about opinions. Everybodies got one.

On topic, everyone can learn rasp. How it sounds is subjective certainly. You need to have good control of cord closure first. If you've never had lessons, get them first. Sustainable rasp is a high level technique so a proper foundation is an absolute must.

Edit: You are going to need good support. You will not use alot of air. To create the vocal, you will need to inhale down through your diaphragm and fill some of your chest area too. When you go to use the rasp, you will control your breath mostly from your costal (chest) muscles but keep the diaphragm out. Think of it as your gas tank and your chest as the accelerator.

You will get the tonality of the rasp by making a muffler sound and going, "heeeyyyy." As long as it doesn't hurt and you have a basic rasp (no matter how crappy), you are probably on to the right idea. After that it's just experimenting with amount of distortion and resonance to get a pleasing sound.