Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Singing & Vocals
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-19-2014, 07:53 AM   #1
Fujicrow

singing and playing steady rythm, help!

Hello people,

I've been playing guitar for a few years now, and got into singing a few months ago... I played rythm guitar in my former band, and I'm getting into songwriting and producing my own songs now.

Producing the songs on my own, I do everything, but at different times... usually I program drums first, then record the guitars/bass and then record the vocals. I'm satisfied with the results... however, I've been thinking about starting a new band where I can sing and play guitar at the same time.. I started practicing ( singing and playing my own songs ) and I found I'm awful. I mean, the voice sounds good, but I miss the beat a lot on the guitar when singing. The parts I play with my guitar are fairly simple ( mostly power chords downstrokes ) and I know the songs by heart, so that's not the problem. I can play them with my eyes closed when not singing...but when I do both at the same time, my timing on the downstrokes gets horribly sloppy.

so, any tips other than "keep practicing"? Any particular methods you guys use to keep the beat going when playing and singing?

thanks a lot
Fujicrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:23 AM   #2
merriman44

Nope. Practice. Your basically maxing out your brain RAM, to use a computer analogy. You need to get those two "programs" linked up and its going to take time and practice. Start slow with a steady beat and that should help.
merriman44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 08:36 AM   #3
Tyson2011

yeah, just practice. Keep a metronome going and start out under tempo and work your way up.
Tyson2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2014, 09:07 AM   #4
Blackst4r
in Gibson we trust