Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-24-2014, 09:26 AM   #1
newbieplayer97

Swollen top

So recently, as I am a newbie in the acoustic guitar world, I brought my guitar to the beach, which is very warm here in Singapore... (I'm from Singapore! ) after a few days, I took my guitar out of my guitar back and I realized that the part behind the guitar bridge in slightly uneven, having a small bump... ( I guess it is swollen ) As my guitar is a laminated top guitar, is there anything I can do to remove this slight swollen bump? And is there anything I can do to remove the sand in my guitar? Thanks in advance!
newbieplayer97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:00 AM   #2
mattgreen2205
Carlos Spicy Weiner

My top is also swollen and it is starting to hurt.

Should I stop playing with it?
mattgreen2205 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 11:51 AM   #3
newbieplayer97

No help?
Old 03-02-2014, 01:52 PM   #4
patticake
Acoustic Goddess

what size "small bump" are we talking about?
patticake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 05:23 PM   #5
newbieplayer97

It just looks like a small bump that is uneven from the flat surface of the guitar, right behind the bridge...
Old 03-02-2014, 06:36 PM   #6
stepchildusmc

it's probably nothing to worry about. most of my guitars have a bit of a bump there. if anything, humidity is your enemy. do you have a way to dehumidfy it?
as for the sand... well, you'll have to vacuum it next time you change the strings..... until then, you have a built in mariachi rattle !!!!
Old 03-03-2014, 08:52 AM   #7
newbieplayer97

How do you dehumidify a guitar? (I'm sorry, I don't know how.. HAHAHHA)
Old 03-03-2014, 10:09 AM   #8
ESBlonde