Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Acoustic & Classical Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-09-2014, 11:59 PM   #1
Kapkrusdader

Looking to upgrade Acoustic Guitar..??

I have a Yamaha FG700s an have been playing for 2 years self taught from youtube..Decided to get lessons to find flaws in my playing an broaden what little knowledge i have..I am a pure strummer an realize i have to learn some picking i guess..

If i upgrade my guitar to a much better guitar will it be easier to play ?? i dont mean play it for me,i love my yamaha ,i mean help me play easier an sound much better?? clearer etc ?? Or is a good guitar a good guita period ?? not sure what i need to look for an what the difference is in good guitars..like what make s a good martin so good ??my guitar store has one up there for 1400.00 but as a casual novice i think it would be very dumb for me to invest in such a guitar
Kapkrusdader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 12:17 AM   #2
Cajundaddy

What do you want a guitar upgrade to do for you? What are your goals?

Spending a lot more $$ doesn't always mean significantly better results. A Martin O-18, D28, and D35 are marvelous guitars but big bucks. Few ears can hear the difference between a $3k Martin and a $500 Seagull so choose wisely.

“Your sound is in your hands as much as anything. It’s the way you pick, and the way you hold the guitar, more than it is the amp or the guitar you use.” - SRV
Cajundaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 12:26 AM   #3
Kapkrusdader

No particular goal.. My main objective is to entertain myself an maybe family out back on summer nights as i grow old..no band, no public playing,just solo acoustic self entertainment..bought my daughter a 130.00 spencer acoustic that has 3 hours on it now and its not even in the same ballpark as my 200.00 Yamaha fg 700s.
Kapkrusdader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 12:36 AM   #4
Gingerlocks
Dreadhead