Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 05-12-2014, 10:59 AM   #1
el_suave

Guitar Build Help

Hey guys,
So this may sound stupid, but I have no experience in building guitars, so bare with me. I would really like to make a kind of "custom" guitar, but I don't want it to be a super expensive build. I've looked on Warmoth and I like their stuff, but it's a tad pricey and I would still have to get the electronics and hardware put on, which I have zero experience doing. I have also looked into doing a "frankenbuild" by getting different parts, like a loaded body, and putting it together myself. However, it is harder to find good loaded bodies and it is not as "custom" if i go that route. Any suggestions? Is it that difficult to put electronics and hardware on?
el_suave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 06:20 PM   #2
Linkerman
UG's Tony Stark

From my [extremely limited] experience, putting the electronics and hardware on is the easiest part. It just requires a little bit of patience and skill with a soldering iron to make the wiring properly, and the rest of the hardware is simply screwed into place.
Afterwards, it's simply a matter of setting up the guitar (action, intonation, etc.).

I'd say the most difficult part is building a neck -- slotting it and fitting the truss rod, making the fretboard, carving and applying the inlays, inserting the fretwire...
If you get a complete neck, you save yourself a lot of work.

Then, the routing and drilling of the body (and headstock) for the hardware also requires extreme precision. One milimeter off, and you'll have issues.
Again, by getting a pre-routed/drilled body you save yourself a lot of work.

Finally, you have to take into account that if you want top-notch results, finishing a guitar is a very long and delicate process. Using wood filler, sanding, applying primer, paint, clearcoat, wet sanding, buffing...