Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 06-22-2014, 02:06 PM   #1
VeilSide
Registered User
 
VeilSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
double micing a guitar cab

so, recently i got a 2nd shure sm57 and i was hoping to record with both of them.
currently i own a single mic stand > Pic

as far as my knowledge goes with double micing guitar cabs, the mics should be placed in the same distance from speaker to avoid phase issues.
my question is, would a dual mic mount be more practical? since the mics should be placed close to each other anyway or should i get another mic stand?

and could you guys recommend a good dual mount for a sm57?

cheers
VeilSide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 04:31 PM   #2
Spambot_2
UG's redhead
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeilSide
so, recently i got a 2nd shure sm57 and i was hoping to record with both of them.
Why would you do that?
I mean there are reasons why you may do that, but they're not that much.

You may try using one mic as a room mic, or one mic near the dustcap and one near the edge...

The phase issues you can correct afterwards in this scenario, so don't worry about them.
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 05:04 PM   #3
VeilSide
Registered User
 
VeilSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spambot_2
Why would you do that?
I mean there are reasons why you may do that, but they're not that much.

You may try using one mic as a room mic, or one mic near the dustcap and one near the edge...

The phase issues you can correct afterwards in this scenario, so don't worry about them.



well right now when i record, i record twice.
one track would be with the mic placed somewhere around the middle, second time somewhere on the outer edge to capture the bass and low end.
i figured with 2 mics i could do it with one recording.
VeilSide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 05:35 PM   #4
LoLoLita
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I mean, ideally you want both mics pointed somewhere between the outer edge and the middle of a speaker cone, then you've got two strong, clean input signals that you can EQ and process differently (although you could accomplish the same thing with a Y-split). It's true that you can fix phasing issues in post production, but you'll probably want to experiment with the setup a bit to get it sounding how you want it, so two stands might be easier for now
LoLoLita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 06:07 PM   #5
Spambot_2
UG's redhead
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Recording two tracks would still be greatly helpful.

So you'd have four tracks, two for each channel.
Try that, it sounds good.
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 06:13 PM   #6
VeilSide
Registered User
 
VeilSide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spambot_2
Recording two tracks would still be greatly helpful.

So you'd have four tracks, two for each channel.
Try that, it sounds good.



will give it a shot! thanks.
any suggestions on how you pan them?
VeilSide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 06:34 PM   #7
Spambot_2
UG's redhead
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
I place a mic near the edge of the cone, at 90 from the grill, and a mic near the dustcap, angled at around 45 from the grill towards the cap.

Then I double track or quad track the thing and I pan a track hard left, one hard right, one 2/3ds left and one 2/3ds right if I have four.

Results may vary from funny to huge, so **** around with what ya got
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:54 AM   #8
Torsten Borg
Registered User
 
Torsten Borg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Hi!

The dual mount won't be necessary. You can always fix the phase issue later. If you want to know how, just ask and i'll explain it to you, i don't want to waste your time right now explaining it if you already knew!

All the best!
-Torsten Borg
Torsten Borg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 09:47 AM   #9
EatShreddies
Producing...
 
EatShreddies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Preston, England
I can only imagine this causing phase issues, however I have read about techniques where you use 2 SM57's, one on axis and off off axis with the phase inverted which can apparently yield some good results!
__________________
My Music
EatShreddies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.