Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 06-29-2014, 07:16 PM   #1
Phlippieskezer

New Bass Player ("Where to Start" Questions)

Hello, (fellow) bassists.

So, I just graduated high school and decided to pick up bass. I've had my bass (Ibanez GSR200, though no amp yet) for over a month now, but since that was right when finals kicked in, I couldn't start (until today!), though I've done a bit of research as to how to start. I have no experience in music aside from a very short foray into guitar.

First off, unfortunately I cannot afford lessons (perpetually broke university student, and if I manage enough savings, it'll be for an amp). I'll be teaching myself bass via the Internet (and maybe a book if it's highly recommended).
My search-fu is off today, so sorry if these questions have been asked before (I feel like they would have been at some point).

My goal is, obviously, to play bass guitar. However, I want to do more than just learn bass, but also learn the theory behind the play. I want to eventually be able to not only be well-versed with a decent amount of styles and techniques, but also be able to improvise, write my own music eventually, and be able to recreate a sound/note on the bass simply by hearing it (to play by ear). That said, I know these are really tall-order for a beginner and I realise they'll take a while to achieve. I do have patience. Simply put, I want to do more than just echo a few songs other people wrote.

My question's pretty simple, but how would I go about starting? I have been reading through studybass.com and read some misc articles found on the Internet. Could I get any recommendations based on my goals? Also, should I just be using one resource, or should I be using multiple each week, or what?

Also, for anyone with similar musical taste to me:
I'm a prog head. Unfortunately, this means *a lot* of music I listen to is way too complex for me to play yet.