Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 07-01-2014, 03:06 PM   #1
TNl4dy88

Beginner, need some tips/help.

I am a beginner acoustic guitar player, i am going off a teach yourself to play guitar book and a couple youtube videos that show how. I am getting frustrated cause in the book the first 2 chords it teaches is the C Chord & G7 Chord. I have small hands and short fingers but i'm daily practicing these chords and i still feel so lost. Should i be doing other things? I have been playing these chords for about a week now and i feel like it isn't getting any better, i think my problem may be the way i'm using my left hand but ive researched like hell and it seems to be the right way.
TNl4dy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:26 PM   #2
Junior#1
Is SouTaicho Yamamoto-san

The fact that you're using an acoustic may be the cause of some of your problems. Acoustic guitars generally have wider, thicker necks, which can make things a bit more difficult. On top of that, your technique may be wrong. Everyone always seems to think that what they are doing is right, but they're usually wrong. Post some pictures of how you hold the guitar and finger the chords. We'll be able to help a lot more with that.

Also, I think the C and G7 chords are a horrible starting place. Start off with E, A, Am, and D.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.

Last edited by Junior#1 : 07-01-2014 at 03:27 PM.
Junior#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 03:40 PM   #3
TNl4dy88

Yeah this book starts with those. I am pretty sure my problem is with my wrist position and well probably the position of my left hand all together. i will post pictures in just a minute.
TNl4dy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:35 AM   #4
gtc83