Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 07-02-2014, 08:44 AM   #1
covzi

Post Fast picking on low-e string

I am trying to learn songs like metal militia, fight fire with fire and similar....
I don't feel comfortable when i try to play these fast. I've been practicing this with a metronome for about 4 months and i can see very little progress. Can someone help?
covzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 08:59 AM   #2
Sickz
Jazz Musician

There are many things that have inpact on your technique. The most common things that hold people back in terms of the picking hand are:

1. Tensing up to much. Always play & practice relaxed, it makes it easier to play and you avoid the risk of injury.

2. How much pressure you put on the pick. You really don´t need to hold the pick that hard, just hard enough that it stays in place. If you hold the pick too hard you are tensing up the hand too much, which limits you.

3. The angle of the pick. The most common angle to pick in is either pretty horizontal or with a slight angle. Angling the pick backwards is not recommended.

4. How you practice. I mean when you are saying you have been practicing it for 4 months with a metronome that doesn´t really tell us anything about your practicing habits. Perhaps you practice way too tensed up or don´t take things like economy of motion andbreathing into consideration. Practice in itself doesn´t help you improve, sometimes it makes you worse if you have bad habits. Perfect practice is the way to improve.

5. How experienced you are. If you are somewhat new to guitar and you are trying to learn to alternate pick stuff like Metal Militia and Fight fire with fire comfortably, you are going to have a real tough time and it will take a long time since you are new to the instrument.