Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Singing & Vocals
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 07-14-2014, 03:17 PM   #1
KeyGuy

Singing high notes (metal).

Hi,

I am complete newbie to singing and would like to develop at least a bit to be able to do some backing vocals.

Obviously since I just started doing this I have problems with everything. In particular though, high notes give me an exceptional trouble. It doesn't get any better with all the mixed terms that everyone seems to be using such as falsetto, head voice, mixed voice, and all the crazy Italian terms designed to confuse.

But put simply, I can't reach the high notes that metal singers use with full sounding voice. And if I flip into falsetto (around e4) it starts to sound very thin and a bit girly. I am wondering if the singers simply have naturally higher pitched voice and are singing in their full chest voice.

So can anyone tell if for example Tony Kakko is singing in falsetto/head voice or chest voice in this song's verse starting at 1:15 and A4:

If it indeed is a head voice, do you know of any exercises that I could do to develop it. For the moment I am not even sure about the difference between falsetto and the head voice - but apparently singing "now" forces the voice into head voice...

Other thing I have problems with is the straining. After singing just 30 minutes my voice starts to sound like a distortion box or ring modulator was left on. Any tips how to avoid this?

Thanks a lot for the answers. And yeah, I know the correct answer probably is "get a coach", and that very well may be what I will do in the future.

Last edited by KeyGuy : 07-14-2014 at 03:21 PM.
KeyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 05:16 PM   #2
Cavalcade
Days, I feel it...