Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Singing & Vocals
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 07-21-2014, 10:12 AM   #1
DaLelo

Question How badly do I suck

I'm working on it. Judge my voice please, be as critical as you like.

But really, don't be nice.
Is there any hope for me?

I know I could learn to stay in tune, but my tone is just.. atrocious. And the worst thing is I can't even change that, you know? Just unlucky enough to have been born with such vocal chords

Anyhow, here's the link: http://vocaroo.com/i/s0ijFmAKRngk

All feedback appreciated.

EDIT: Should mention I'm a complete beginner.

Last edited by DaLelo : 07-21-2014 at 11:14 AM.
DaLelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 10:19 AM   #2
GoldenGuitar

You actually can't stay in tune, you're about about -25 cents to a semitone off. So there you go.
GoldenGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 10:50 AM   #3
DaLelo

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldenGuitar
You actually can't stay in tune, you're about about -25 cents to a semitone off. So there you go.

Thanks for your feedback. And I was just saying that if I committed the time to learn to stay in tune my tone wouldn't really change… Not that I can stay in tune now
Old 07-21-2014, 11:10 AM   #4
AJScott

You're really not trying hard enough, it's very half assed, if you can't hit the high notes try them an octave lower.
AJScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 11:15 AM   #5
mjones1992

Some advice that someone gave me a few years ago: Start projecting. It's 1000x easier to stay in tune and hit notes when you're projecting.

Here's an easy way to start out ->

Step 1: Stand in your room and pretend there's someone sitting in front of you. Now talk to them like they're 50 yards away. Just talk. Loud. Really loud. Don't yell, just pretend you're talking, but you want someone far away to hear. Practice doing that until you have a handle on how that feels to speak that loudly.