Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-01-2014, 06:34 PM   #1
LostHeaven

Buying my first guitar; in need of advice from the pros

Hello, everyone.

As this is my first post here, I'd like to start by greeting the Ultimate Guitar community!

Short version, and following the stickied post's guidelines:
Budget: up to £300 ($500). Would be willing to spend a little bit more if the difference in the guitar's quality would be really, really worth the extra push.
Favourite artists: a bit tough to answer but guys like Satriani, Vai or Van Halen really inspire me with what they're able to do with a guitar.
Preferences: no preferences towards any type of body shape or brands. I'm an absolute beginner so, the chances are, I wouldn't even feel the difference. Mostly looking for overall quality and durability. With my little knowledge of guitar matters, I believe a slim neck would better suit the mentioned guitarists' style. I would, however, like something that would serve me well now, as a beginner, but that would also do the job when I reach an intermediate level.
Pickups: no preferences as well. Upgrading pickups seems to be something that can be easily done, so I would be willing to make that extra investment in the future, if needed.
New or used: currently looking to buy a new one (thinking it might be wise to spend the extra cash but having the piece of mind of having a 3 year warranty. Is this relevant for a begginer?), but not opposed to buy a used one if its quality is worth it.
Location: London, therefore limited to local physical stores and European online ones.
Current gear: A Fender Mustang I amp.

Long version: