Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-02-2014, 01:34 AM   #1
dannyalcatraz

Unusual guitar configurations

Once upon a time, I had a hankerin' for a hardtail HSS guitar, and found out that they're...pretty rare. I eventually had one custom built. Shortly thereafter, I found that Licea made one. But I really haven't seen that many out there.

Similarly, Hagstrom is one of the few makers I can think of doing a Lp clone in 25.5" scale.

Reverend, Fender, Nik Huber and a few others make guitars with bridge HBs and a P90 of some kind in the neck. And Fret-King borrows a page from Parker and expands the possibilities of the HB/P90 design with a (surprisingly affordable) semihollow featuring an additional piezo system.

What unusual guitar designs have you encountered that you think are cool?

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!
dannyalcatraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 10:07 AM   #2
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl

p90/s/s is quite nice

also a tele bridge pickup with strat middle and neck single coils

Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 10:24 AM   #3
gregs1020
Hi mom!

no dave, neck p90.

kinda want.
gregs1020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2014, 11:40 AM   #4
dannyalcatraz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
p90/s/s is quite nice

Ah, yeah- Fret King has a couple of those.

Quote:
also a tele bridge pickup with strat middle and neck single coils

Certain versions of Reverend's Six Gun have been made that way.

Old 08-02-2014, 11:42 AM   #5
dannyalcatraz

Oh yeah, when I asked this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannyalcatraz
What unusual guitar designs have you encountered that you think are cool?

I forgot to ALSO ask, "...and who makes guitars like that?"

Old 08-02-2014, 12:06 PM   #6
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl

^ LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregs1020
no dave, neck p90.

kinda want.