Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Bands & Artists > 80s Rock, Shred & Progressive
User Name  
Password
Search:

Closed Thread
Old 04-29-2006, 07:27 PM   #1
Lord_Xian
UG Newbei

Learning Shred/Improving

I've played guitar for a little over 3 years now and am about what yo'd expect for playing that length. I'm really a punk guitarist so I'm basically awesome at powerchords and untechnical melodic solos, but I lack improvising ability and theory knowledge.
I like a lot of 80's metal bands, alice cooper, twisted sister, vicious rumour, and admire the guitaring skill and believe I could play something near that good with enough time and practise but I dont really know what I'm doing. I can alternate pick fast and in time with my fretting hand but what I play is just random frets moving up and down the neck which sounds like a mess. I know if I was in the electric guitar forum they'd just say learn your scales, but for specific metal shred/improv I could do with something more than that, or at least specific scales to learn and ways to practice.
Any help would be great.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jagstang270
One should not try to masturbate while Dragoneforce is in the background
you just can't keep up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by waylay00
DragonForce? Sounds like some early 90's children's cartoon or action hero lineup.
Lord_Xian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 07:34 PM   #2
HopeFades

G major, A minor, C major, A major, and E minor/major......and practice with a metronome
HopeFades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2006, 07:38 PM   #3
splice
crank that jessie jackson

first off your technique needs a bit of brushing up.....

get some exercises from the steve vai 10 hour workout tab and make up some of your own exercises to make a daily routine.....

when practicing, make sure every note is perfect

go to www.ibreathemusic.com for some good articles on the rest of what youll need
splice is offline   Reply With Quote