Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-05-2008, 09:29 AM   #1
'57Strat
Stratman

Peavey Classic Users Group

It's time for a thread specifically about this amp. It shows up in many, many threads from those who either have them, or those considering getting them. Seems those of us with them should share.

I've been playing for 40 years, through a variety of Fenders, Crate, Hiwatt, Kustom and Marshall amps, some small and some huge, some timid and some intimidating. I play hard and classic rock, blues, alternative and 70s style british rock (Wishbone Ash, Savoy Brown, T-Rex, etal). I play primarily Fender strats, but also use an Ibanez SZ520QM and a 335 Dot. I've learned over many years of playing and performing that the number of watts your amp puts out is not as important as how it delivers those watts, and primarily, the tone you can milk out of it. So, very, very little use of pedals anymore . . . . . . just straight ahead axe to amp. That's the space where you quickly find out if you have the chops or not.

The Classic 30 - designed by Peavey after an older Vox AC30 - need much more be said? Built like a tank, very quiet even when cranked, luscious creamy vibe to paint peeling shred, and able to melt your heart at club volume if you love a good blues turn. Handsome in tweed, and downright gorgeous paired with the matching Classic 112E extension cabinet. Soundmen will tell you that a good mic on a Classic 30 is indeed classic, and 30 Peavey tube watts provides a bigger boatload of volume than most will ever need until your Wembley gig, when you might want 2.