Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 02-15-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
Miracle_Man
Registered misUser

How long will it take?

Hey there UG. I play guitar reasonably well and I have been playing for 4 years now. I am interested in taking up bass and I was wondering how long you think it would take for me to become a moderately good bass player. I would be trying to use my fingers, teaching myself from scratch and aiming to practice at least 30 mins a day.
Old 02-15-2008, 12:42 PM   #2
Deliriumbassist
UG's only DB

It's impossible to say, really. It's not about how good a guitarist you are or how much you practice- it's about how well you fit into the bassist's mindset and the quality of your practicing.

Deliriumbassist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 12:44 PM   #3
ValoRhoads
Knight of The Phrygian

well a bass is just a bigger guitar with thicker strings. A four string is the same as the bottom 4 guitar strings: standard tuning E A D G just in a lower octave.
Shouldn't take you long at all to be a good bass player, you'll just have to work on your finger technique and slapping if that is what you wanna do.
On all of my recordings I play both. I built my bass and was recording that night.
Old 02-15-2008, 12:47 PM   #4
Thrall
\/ Yeah, that's me.

couple months probably?
Thrall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 12:47 PM   #5
Micah_Bass22

You really can't predict how long it will take. When I finally got serious and into playing bass took me about 8 months before I feel like im no longer a begginer and more of an intermidate player. And the thought that because you play guitar really has nothing to do with playing bass well. May help you with theory but not actually playing.
Fender Rumble 100 2x10
Concertmate-990 Keyboard
BBE Stomp Sonic Maximizer
Squier Stratocaster
Fender 15w Guitar Amp
Micah_Bass22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2008, 12:47 PM   #6
Deliriumbassist