Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-27-2013, 06:02 AM   #11661
cha33 armstrong
in it to win it
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hoenn
not that my amp needs it yet but when the time comes to changing the valves in my bc15 (my first valve amp) i wont know what im doing so does anyone have a video on "how to take the bc15 apart" ???????
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:31 AM   #11662
ProphetToJables
Tight Tight Tight
 
ProphetToJables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Telford
Shadowspy: Ring them up and ask, thats a hell of a way for a repair.

Cha33: Take it to a tech.
__________________
Gear:

Gibson 2005 Les Paul Standard
Fender Road Worn Strat w/ Noiseless pickups
Marshall JCM 2000 401C
Marshall Vintage Modern 2266
Marshall 1960A cab (Dave Hill from Slade's old cab)
Ibanez TS9DX
EHX Little Big Muff
Freshman Acoustic
ProphetToJables is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 06:33 AM   #11663
shadowspy
Registered User
 
shadowspy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Haha my german isn't too good. Music-Group doesn't even respond to my emails anymore.
I was just wondering if I'm impatient or if the amp should be back by now. I'm curious to other people's experiences with the repairing process.
shadowspy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 12:36 PM   #11664
Akherousia
Registered User
 
Akherousia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axe-man69
You COULD try another similar after market footswitch, ot buy a Another Behringer 1, they are all the same, if its no different you can just get a refund. Thats what I did 1st until I worked out it was a switching problem and not a switch!

Does yours also jump channels randomly or reset back to the clean channel? If so its definitely a switching regulator!

I'll have to see if I can find one, and if there is a refund option since I can't really afford an extra footswitch if mine ends up still being functional.

I've heard of the random channel switching issue, but mine doesn't do that. It would behave in one of three manners..

1.) It would work for a short period of time, but only the clean light would actually light up.
2.) The clean light would turn on but the footswitch wouldn't do anything else, especially not switch channels.
3.) Absolutely nothing. Won't even light up.

I guess my best bet is testing other footswitches just to be sure.
It wasn't a problem until recently, but now my band's been incorporating more clean parts into our songs and.. yeah, figures that's when my footswitch craps out on me.

Thanks for the help, by the way.
Akherousia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:00 AM   #11665
cha33 armstrong
in it to win it
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hoenn
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProphetToJables
Shadowspy: Ring them up and ask, thats a hell of a way for a repair.

Cha33: Take it to a tech.

at a local music shop or what???
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 09:43 AM   #11666
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
^

If it is in warranty and you want to keep it that way then take it to a Bugera authorized repair center. If it is not under warranty or you don't care then anywhere is fine. Just don't let them charge you an arm and leg and put new tubes in if you don't need them. It shouldn't take more than an hour or so so $40 - $70.

I learned how to do it myself because I don't feel like paying for it
http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/...HJH/blog/80083/


Can't speak to the BC15 specifically. I think it would be wise to send them an email and ask.
__________________
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:18 AM   #11667
Goofydog
The Soul of Valves
 
Goofydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Valley, California
^ I'm pretty sure the BC15 has only one 12ax7 in the preamp. Just pop it out and put a new one in, not that you'll ever have to.
Goofydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 10:46 AM   #11668
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
^ I'll be damned. LOL


cha33 - yeah you won't need to bias anything. I see now from a pic though that you will indeed need to remove the chassis to get to that one tube. Just look for the screws to remove the chassis. Don't do it if you want to keep your warranty. I don't think you need to worry about anything right now anyway.
__________________
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 11:04 AM   #11669
cha33 armstrong
in it to win it
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Hoenn
k thanks guys
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:48 PM   #11670
rickster100
Registered User
 
rickster100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
hi i have a bugera 6262 combo, decided to change the pre amp valves from the standard one to electro harmonics 12AX7's, put it together switched it on it crackled for a bit popped then died lol there was no funny smells. Now it won't switch on the light doesn't light up ? did notice the bias adjustment was at minimum any ideas ? cheers
rickster100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:53 PM   #11671
Goofydog
The Soul of Valves
 
Goofydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Valley, California
^^ Minimum? You mean all the way clockwise? (pretty sure that's minimum)
Goofydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:58 PM   #11672
rickster100
Registered User
 
rickster100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
yep clockwise looking from the back
rickster100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 09:54 AM   #11673
Goofydog
The Soul of Valves
 
Goofydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Central Valley, California
I've never heard of bad preamp tubes blowing a fuse, but... I'd put the original ones back, get a few new fuses and try again. Usually a fuse will blow from a bad power tube.
Goofydog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 10:09 AM   #11674
rickster100
Registered User
 
rickster100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Was thinking that, last time i had it on it was a bit noisier humming quite a bit compared to usual i put it down to the emg's in the ibanez, i plan on upgrading the power tubes next thanks for the help.
rickster100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 02:55 AM   #11675
BoL7z
Registered User
 
BoL7z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I'm looking at down grading my 4x12 to a 2x12, atm I have some random 4x12 which sounds fine

Would you guys recommend the Bugera 2x12 for the money (270AUD) or so, or is there something better I could be looking at?
__________________
MY SOUNDCLOUD FOR METALZ
BoL7z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 02:51 AM   #11676
Axe-man69
UG Board King
 
Axe-man69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne , AU
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoL7z
I'm looking at down grading my 4x12 to a 2x12, atm I have some random 4x12 which sounds fine

Would you guys recommend the Bugera 2x12 for the money (270AUD) or so, or is there something better I could be looking at?


Seeing you're in OZ, I will push the same line i have in the past re speaker cabinets and speakers.

I recommend Lorantz speakers, honestly they got a clarity and punch, Celestions, and their ilk cant touch!

I'm sure Mike could make you a nice 2X12 with 2 of his 75W speakers for a pretty reasonable price.
OR you may find some local stockists also that sell his speakers loose.

Give him a call or an email.

http://www.lorantz.com.au/

Ph: (03) 9791 5971
__________________

You Wanted the BEST, You GOT the BEST, You KNOW the Rest...

http://beaverrecords.com/forum please join our newest music related forum on the net!
Axe-man69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 09:18 AM   #11677
Tenebrion
Registered User
 
Tenebrion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I always learn something in here man !!!
__________________
Bugera 6262
Squier Showmaster
Richman Custom
Starfire 7
Ibanez EX
Agile Interceptor 725
Behringer GX212 (now works as head)
JOYO JF 01
Kimaxe PJ Bass
Tenebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 04:49 AM   #11678
_KurtCobain_77
All Praise Lord Emery
 
_KurtCobain_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Duncan Keith can go play in traffic
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoL7z
I'm looking at down grading my 4x12 to a 2x12, atm I have some random 4x12 which sounds fine

Would you guys recommend the Bugera 2x12 for the money (270AUD) or so, or is there something better I could be looking at?

no idea about the enclosure, as you're down under, but I switched from the Bugera 4x12 to a custom (local luthier) 2x12 and a WGS V30/ET65 combo and would never swap out for anything brand name to run my 6260 through unless it says Vader on the front (who are unfortunately out of business apparently).
__________________
TO ALL MY KILLERS AND MY HUNDRED DOLLAR BILLERS...
...TO EMO KIDS THAT GOT TOO MANY FEELINGS

Like gaming? Like podcasts? http://www.dragonscrewgaming.com/
_KurtCobain_77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:11 AM   #11679
BoL7z
Registered User
 
BoL7z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brisbane, Australia
does anyone have any experiance importing a harley benton g212 into Australia / postage prices?
__________________
MY SOUNDCLOUD FOR METALZ
BoL7z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2013, 05:47 AM   #11680
Axe-man69
UG Board King
 
Axe-man69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne , AU
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoL7z
does anyone have any experiance importing a harley benton g212 into Australia / postage prices?


At THAT weight,

it would be more expensive than buying local.
The postage would be a killer and prob cost way more than the box it self!

I still say go a set of Lorantz!
__________________

You Wanted the BEST, You GOT the BEST, You KNOW the Rest...

http://beaverrecords.com/forum please join our newest music related forum on the net!

Last edited by Axe-man69 : 03-31-2013 at 05:49 AM.
Axe-man69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.