Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 04-12-2015, 09:39 PM   #1
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Anyone wanna recommend an amp for me?

Right now I have a vox AD15VT. I don't have any pedals or anything like that (still a total noob).

I want an amp that will allow me to save settings (sucks having to tweak the EQ knobs every time to get the sound I wanted, and effects knob)

Now I don't think my amp allows that Lol. I don't even know, I got it off clist. But I know its a 2004 model.
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 09:47 PM   #2
TheStig1214
Lace Fanboy
 
TheStig1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
What's your budget, location, and preferred genre of music?

On the cheap, I'll already recommend a used POD HD500 and powered PA wedge.
__________________
Ibanez/Perle "IC7321" w/Lace DB7-Alumitone 7
Ibanez IC300 w/ Lace Dissonant Aggressors
Gibson RD Silverburst

Amps and the like:
Laney VH100R
Seismic Luke 2x12
Line 6 M13
Dunlop 535Q Wah
Gojira FX 808
TheStig1214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 10:08 PM   #3
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Hard Rock, classical, grunge, metal etc. Location is Canada. Budget is <500
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 10:11 PM   #4
TheStig1214
Lace Fanboy
 
TheStig1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
My recommendation still remains.

You amp can actually save settings too. You should have 2 channels, and if you bought the footswitch to it you could switch between them like that.
__________________
Ibanez/Perle "IC7321" w/Lace DB7-Alumitone 7
Ibanez IC300 w/ Lace Dissonant Aggressors
Gibson RD Silverburst

Amps and the like:
Laney VH100R
Seismic Luke 2x12
Line 6 M13
Dunlop 535Q Wah
Gojira FX 808
TheStig1214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2015, 11:26 PM   #5
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
What's a PA wedge?

BTW I never plan to gig etc. Only play at home as a hobby

Last edited by girn26 : 04-13-2015 at 12:01 AM.
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 03:23 AM   #6
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Look at the newer Vox VT line, I think you can save up to 4 settings.
You might be a perfect candidate for one of the older Line6 amps, like the Vetta but maybe budget is lower than they sell.
Overall it seems like you need a modeling amp.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 09:50 AM   #7
jackmiddlemiss
Jack The Lad
 
jackmiddlemiss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
If I'm not mistaken, with the amp that you have, you can simulate other types of amps (ex. VOX AC15 and UK Rock etc.). I don't think you can actually save personal settings/adjustments. But if you are looking for something similar (also VOX, but in the form of a multi-pedal) check out the VOX Tonelab ST or EX. It's a cool device that I started out with, when I was first learning. Has some great sounds on there and you can save dozens of different settings.
__________________
Gibson 2014 Les Paul Premium Quilt Cherryburst
Cole Clark Fat Lady Accoustic
Victory V50 Earl 50W Amp
Blackstar HT 20 Studio
Orange 12" Cab
Lots of TC Electronic and MXR Pedals
jackmiddlemiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 11:44 AM   #8
dspellman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by girn26
What's a PA wedge?

BTW I never plan to gig etc. Only play at home as a hobby




This is a typical setup. The "PA Wedge" on the amp stand is a powered speaker, and can be simply flopped on the floor, put on an amp stand as this one is, or put up on a pole. There's a single 12" speaker and a horn tweeter in this one, and a 400W RMS power amplifier built in. The low frequency (12") driver is able to go deeper than a standard guitar speaker, and the HF driver will go higher, and in this case there's actually a small mixer on the back of the speaker that will allow you to control other instruments (keyboard, etc.) and/or a vocal mike directly.

A Pod HD500 or other Multi-FX will make a good preamp (controlling volume, EQ and offering dozens of pedal equivalents, etc). The wide range of the powered speaker allows you to replicate a very wide range of amps and cabinets, including (in the case of the HD500) some bass cabinets.

This particular powered speaker (a Carvin PM12A) is relatively inexpensive at around $279, and a pristine used HD500 would run $350 or less.

Last edited by dspellman : 04-13-2015 at 11:46 AM.
dspellman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 12:55 PM   #9
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
^will I be able to play that setup through headphones? I read up on HD500 and it seems like it's pretty complicated. I'm a newbie to all this (never taken lessons for guitar, still learning) but it seems like HD500 would be a very versatile until. Oh, and I can't find the carvin for sale anywhere. Any other recommendations for a PA speaker?
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:12 PM   #10
Arby911
Finding the Pattern
 
Arby911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by girn26
^will I be able to play that setup through headphones? I read up on HD500 and it seems like it's pretty complicated. I'm a newbie to all this (never taken lessons for guitar, still learning) but it seems like HD500 would be a very versatile until. Oh, and I can't find the carvin for sale anywhere. Any other recommendations for a PA speaker?


Yes and http://carvinaudio.com/products/pm1...speaker-monitor
__________________
The man who holds to a belief because of tradition, or hides it because he fears he may be shown to be wrong, does not love the truth but manifests a coward’s faithfulness to his prejudices.
Arby911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:13 PM   #11
Knarrenheino
SoCalled guitarist
 
Knarrenheino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
http://www.voxshowroom.com/uk/amp/ad15.html

If this is your amp, it can save settings, the manual will tell you how to do it exactly. But it's possibly just two save slots, which isn't much of course.

Quote:
will I be able to play that setup through headphones? I read up on HD500 and it seems like it's pretty complicated.


The HD500 is going to have a phones output. Well I'd be very surprised if it didn't.
Knarrenheino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:51 PM   #12
Offworld92
One among the fence.
 
Offworld92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Carvin makes very nice gear. But if you want to stay cheap, something like this will work. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-...r#productDetail

It probably won't have the clarity and cleanness of the Carvin, but it's a cheaper alternative.

I have a Line 6 POD HD500X myself, and it's a great tool. It's a dialer though, there are endless combinations of settings and you can be be left tweaking endlessly to find perfect settings. I like tweaking so it's fun for me, but I know some people get annoyed with it.

If you want to keep things simpler, check out the Peavey Vypyr VIP-2. It's a combination guitar/bass amp that can save more presets than you'd ever use, like the POD. It's a lot less flexible, but if you like the form factor of an actual amp, it's the best entry level modeler out there right now IMO.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/ampl...eling-combo-amp

This is the foot controller to control the Vypyr. There is a bigger one as well with more flexibility and functionality but it's more expensive. http://www.musiciansfriend.com/ampl...sanpera&index=2
__________________
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

Ibanez RG520
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
VHT Special 6 Ultra
Pedulz
Offworld92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 03:59 PM   #13
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Will the hd500 be good for me? A total newb? I assume I could download other people's settings off the net? I'm leaning towards it.

Will be nice to not have to get off my couch to change the amp modeling and settings around Lol

Peavey is nice too
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 05:00 PM   #14
TheStig1214
Lace Fanboy
 
TheStig1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by girn26
Will the hd500 be good for me? A total newb? I assume I could download other people's settings off the net? I'm leaning towards it.

Will be nice to not have to get off my couch to change the amp modeling and settings around Lol

Peavey is nice too


There is a bit of a learning curve to the HD500 but once you get the hang of it (which shouldn't take long at all) it's a fantastic piece of gear for what you want. If you look up the gear of some of your favorite artists you can model their amps and pedals in the HD500 and get pretty close in a lot of cases. And yes, you can go on Line 6's POD patch forum and download other people's sounds. Or just dick around with amp and pedal models enough and you'll get a sound you like. And if you need any help you could always just ask around here.

There is also a 1/4" headphone out for silent playing.
__________________
Ibanez/Perle "IC7321" w/Lace DB7-Alumitone 7
Ibanez IC300 w/ Lace Dissonant Aggressors
Gibson RD Silverburst

Amps and the like:
Laney VH100R
Seismic Luke 2x12
Line 6 M13
Dunlop 535Q Wah
Gojira FX 808
TheStig1214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 12:28 AM   #15
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Thanks! I found a HD500 for $300 on clist. What cable(s) do I need to connect it to the powered monitor?

Also, is it fine just having one monitor? Upon research some ppl recommend two

Last edited by girn26 : 04-14-2015 at 12:43 AM.
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 02:58 AM   #16
Offworld92
One among the fence.
 
Offworld92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Just an instrument cable from one of the POD outputs to one of the monitor inputs is all you need. Note that if for some reason your monitor only has XLR inputs, 1/4" to XLR cables are common. Just make sure it's not a TRS jack on the 1/4" side.

For practicing by yourself one monitor is fine.
__________________
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

Ibanez RG520
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
VHT Special 6 Ultra
Pedulz
Offworld92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 11:09 AM   #17
TheStig1214
Lace Fanboy
 
TheStig1214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
The POD has XLR outs, so you could even do XLR from the POD to the monitor too.
__________________
Ibanez/Perle "IC7321" w/Lace DB7-Alumitone 7
Ibanez IC300 w/ Lace Dissonant Aggressors
Gibson RD Silverburst

Amps and the like:
Laney VH100R
Seismic Luke 2x12
Line 6 M13
Dunlop 535Q Wah
Gojira FX 808
TheStig1214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 11:00 PM   #18
girn26
Registered User
 
girn26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
I ordered the Kustom PA KPC12MP..

I read one of the reviews on it, with someone using a POD HD500 and this was stated "The unit does have an XLR and a Line input, however the preamp is the same on both, as a MIC level signal is not sufficient to get any volume. Make sure you are sending a line level signal regardless of which input you are using (this is an issue on units like a POD where the XLR is sending mic level and the 1/4" is sending line level)."

I assume i'll have to stick with a 1/4" cable then
girn26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 02:41 AM   #19
Offworld92
One among the fence.
 
Offworld92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
I haven't gone out of my way to look for it but I'd find it hard to believe you can't set the output level for any of the outputs. But either way, you can just use a 1/4".
__________________
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

Ibanez RG520
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
VHT Special 6 Ultra
Pedulz
Offworld92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2015
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.